Biotin

Biotin for Hair Growth/Loss, How it Works, Dosage, Reviews & Results

By  | 

How can you use biotin for hair growth/loss and thinning? How does it work in promoting hair regrowth and thickening? How much of the vitamin should you take daily for hair. Here’s a guide on how to use vitamin b7 effectively for hair restoration with user reviews and before and after photos plus how to get best brand.

Biotin for Hair Growth/Loss & Thinning-Does it Work?

There are many hair growth supplements out there. Starting with natural remedies for hair nourishment to commercial products for hair growth. Shampoos, conditioners, hair masks and many others can be used to stop hair loss and promote hair growth

Many vitamins are sold on the market with the pitch that they help hair regrowth. Vitamin E is one of them. Looking at th

Biotin For Hair Loss

e reviews and ratings when it comes to hair growth and regrowth results, it does not perform quite as well as biotin does for people with hair loss. Biotin, today, is considered one of the best vitamins for hair growth alongside prenatal vitamins. . But biotin? Does it work?

How biotin and hair growth is linked is a very debatable question that has so far, no solid scientific

facts to go by. There is still a lot of uncertainty on whether biotin can really make your hair grow faster and fuller. Some doctors still dispute this fact saying that there is no scientific basis to support this claim.

The clearest science-based explanation is based on the role of biotin in the human body. Vitamin B7 is vital to cell proliferation. When consumed, this B-complex vitamin reacts with cell enzymes and plays a vital part in producing amino acids, which are the building blocks of protein. Your tress is made up of keratin, which is a form of protein. This is simply why biotin a valuable resource in hair growth.

Biotin also helps regulate the functions of the sebaceous glands. Hair loss is one of the known symptoms of biotin deficiency which is quite rare. Therefore, eating foods that contain biotin helps to contribute to hair healthy growth.

Benefits-How is Biotin Good for Hair? What does it do?

No surprise, biotin is good for not only hair loss but also almost anything to do with good hair. From growing long hair to helping you regrow lost hair, it is widely known that you can use biotin to thicken your hair, make it grow long and look shinier.

How much biotin for hair growth or loss

Biotin 5000 mcg

Take a look at most of the hair products that promise and deliver the best results for your hair. You will notice one little ingredient that seems to be stuck in there – biotin. Shampoos for hair growth, conditioners for volumizing hair and hair growth regimens – they all contain the ingredient biotin. It tells one simple fact; that though there is no concrete evidence to support how biotin helps hair grow, it is definitely good for hair loss and hair regrowth.

There are probably very minor side effects of using biotin for hair loss treatment. Therefore, you can as well say that biotin is safe for hair loss in men and women.

Continued use of biotin results in healthier hair follicles translating into stronger, longer and fuller hair. There is reduced hair breakage meaning that hair will grow longer in a shorter period.

Another great benefit that comes with taking biotin supplements for hair growth other than increase in length and strength is great hair color since this vitamin replenishes your roots and follicles. These benefits for any type of hair including natural African American black hair, men’s and kid’s hair.

Biotin for Thinning Hair

Biotin-for-Thinning-Hair

Thinning Hair

What is the link between Biotin and hair thinning? Is biotin good for thinning hair?
One thing you should know is that thinning hair and losing hair can be a normal part of ageing. Age also makes hair become finer. However, according to WebMD, thinning of your hair may also be due to other causes or factors such as genes, chemotherapy treatments, overstyling of your hair,stress, thyroid problems etc.

Some men and women may start showing signs of receding hairline along temples as a result of these factors. Does biotin help hair thinning? Biotin definitely helps with hair thinning. Lack of biotin or biotin deficiency is a condition is usually identified by its symptoms such thinning of the hair. This therefore means biotin is good for hair since without it your hair will thin.

Dosage- How much Biotin to take for Hair Growth & Loss -Men & Women

Taking the right dosage is important when it comes to just about any pill or supplement for growing hair back after a bout of hair loss. But what is the right biotin dosage for men with hair loss problems? The truth is that you do not need a lot of biotin in your system to stop the loss of hair.

Your body probably produces enough by itself – just enough for your needs. However, when you want to treat hair loss in men and women, the right dosage becomes crucial.

The appropriate dosage of biotin for hair loss will depend on two important aspects of the person taking the pills. These are, your health condition and your age

Other factors that are thought to influence the amount include;

  • Diet
  • How much water one takes in a day
  • How much alcohol one consumes
  • If on any antibiotic treatment

It is believed that while alcohol and antibiotics hinder the functions of biotin in the body, intake of adequate amounts of water could help the body adapt to the supplements

That said, how much biotin should you take for hair loss? What dosage will stop hair from falling off and disappearing? Will you experience any side effects if you overdose on biotin vitamins? In essence, there is no such thing as an ‘established dosage’ of biotin vitamin for hair loss problems.

Dietary amounts can be as much as you may want, or equally as low. The results will vary from one person to the other as we will see in the reviews below.

The daily intakes of biotin have, however, been set to the following limits for people who are trying to grow hair and do away with the problem of hair loss:

  • 7 micrograms for children below 12 months
  • 8 micrograms for children between 1 and 3 years
  • 12 micrograms of biotin for children between 4 and 8 years
  • 20 mcg for those aged 9 to thirteen years
  • 25 mcg for ages fourteen to eighteen and finally
  • 30 mcg for adults above 18 years

These limits have been set by the Institute of Medicine.

There are no dietary limitations of biotin since it is thought to be safe even when taken in large doses. However, this is not the case for everyone. Some people have had terrible experiences with high doses.

The Mayo Clinic’s dosage recommendation for adults is between 30-100 mcg per day of biotin. On the other hand, The Institute of Medicine’s Food and Nutrition Board recommends that  adults should get 19.30 mcg of biotin per day. The dosages range according to your age, and if you are actually biotin deficient or not.

Biotin 1000mcg, 5000mcg & 10000mcg for Hair

Which amount of mcg works fast? 1000 mcg or 5000mcg or 10000 mcg? Some individuals claim that as little as 5 mcg biotin hair growth 2 weeks works while others claim that taking large doses 5000-10000 mcg produces fast results.

Biotin 5000 mcg for Hair

Many people claim to have grown their hair longer and thicker while using 5000mcg of biotin daily taken in two halves – in the morning and evening. However, this does not seem to work for everyone.

Since this does not seem to work for everyone, it is advisable to start at a lesser dose say 2500mcg and make a gradual increase as you document your progress on photos until you get to the amount that works specifically for you.

Biotin 1000 mcg Hair Growth

Is biotin 1000 mcg the best for hair growth? A significant number of individuals (especially those who lack sufficient biotin in their body) have reported that this specific biotin supplementation has greatly helped them regrow their hair.

This is just anecdotal evidence meaning that there is not enough scientific information to back up these reports. But if it has worked for someone, it might also work for you.

Biotin 10000 mcg

It is however, recommended that you should not exceed 10000mcg per day. Do not attempt to take this dosage especially if you have not tried the smaller dosages.

Biotin 10000mcg for hair growth

Biotin 10000mcg

Be it 5000 mcg or 1000 mcg supplements,  results seem to differ from one person to the other due to different metabolism rates and levels of activity.

Biotin Hair Growth rate-How long does it take to see Results?

The  rate at which your hair grow will grow and thicken when taking biotin may vary from person to person. However, there’s no rate that has been set as standard.

Most users have reported that biotin takes 2-3 weeks to start showing results. For some people it may up to six months or more. For others it will take forever meaning that they wont see results.

Note that results for using biotin are mixed... they are not clear. Though it does cause hair to become stronger at the shaft while reducing hair loss in the process.  The stronger your  hair, the better the chances of it growing longer

Biotin for Hair Loss/ Regrowth & Thinning Reviews

There are a few studies that support biotin hair growth remedy

According to the European Journal of Paediatric Neurology, children who take certain anti-epileptic drugs (AEDs) may suffer hair loss as a secondary effect. This hair loss might be treated with biotin supplementation. The medication may cause biotin deficiency, and therefore b7 supplementation improves hair back to normal levels.

According to The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, Biotin and Zinc supplementation safely and effectively promotes significant hair growth in women with temporary hair thinning.

Ablon Skin Institute Research Center and the University of California, concluded that women who suffered with thinning hair had great success with hair growth when taking biotin.

“Many supplements, including biotin and folic acid, are said to help grow and thicken hair. In studying these different supplements, the findings have been mixed”. American Academy of Dermatology

Other than the studies, there is anecdotal evidence that suggests biotin may have a couple benefits for your mane. Below are some of the customer testimonials and reviews on the use of biotin to grow long, healthy hair.

Reviews Ratings of biotin products for growing hair long: Biotin products are highly rated. Average rating of all brands is at 4 stars out of 5. More than 50 percent of buyers stated that they would buy again.

Reviews at WebMd.com rate biotin for hair supplements at 3.4, 4.4, and 3.5 out of 5 stars based on effectiveness, ease of use and satisfaction respectively. Here are some of the testimonials we came across while reviewing this product.

“I take 5000mcgs daily (with food.) So far I have no brand preference, (though I don’t recommend Spring Valley (walmart) brand, it did absolutely nothing for me and my hair started to fall out massively again) [Makeupalley]

“Biotin has worked wonders for me! My hair was very damaged from regular coloring and since I have been taking biotin my hair is thicker and growing very fast. My nails are the strongest and longest they have ever been! My skin is also looking better. I have had no bad side effects. I have switched between the 5000 and 10000 mcg pills (whichever is on sale) and have had great results for the la ….” [WebMd]

However, it should be noted that biotin does NOT work for everybody. The supplements may not work for you because;

  • Cheap and Poor quality with insufficient amount of biotin in each capsule/pill or tab
  • Some people are allergic to biotin. At the same time ingredients that come with the biotin supplements can be allergic.

Therefore, you should consult your doctor to rule out health conditions that could put you at a risk of developing unpleasant side effects.

Pregnant women and children should be well advised before starting any biotin regimen meant for hair growth.

Biotin for Hair Growth Results Before and After Pictures

What results on hair growth should you expect when taking biotin for hair growth? Biotin hair growth results before and after are quite mixed. While most people report great results after using biotin for hair, it is important to note that biotin does not work in a matter of days. Patience and consistency is  key if you really want to see some great results.

Due to the factors mentioned above, the reception and absorption of biotin in different people is quite different. It is recommended that one takes biotin consistently for about 4-6 months for best results. Here, are some of the before and after photos of people who have used biotin to grow their hair longer.

Results for men

Hair growth/loss with biotin in Men before and after pictures

Hair growth with biotin in Men

Women results

biotin before and after results-women

Results- women

Biotin black hair growth results

Biotin as a hair growth supplement does not seem to work better on hair depending on its color. As long as other determining factors are ruled out it is safe and may work right for black hair as much as it does for other hair colors.

African American black hair growth with biotin before and after

African American black hair growth with biotin

Choosing the Best Biotin Pills, Oil, Powder, Vitamins Brands for Hair

There are many forms and brands of biotin pills/tablets for hair growth. All these forms are well tolerated with an exception of those with difficulty in digesting hard capsules or tablets. Liquid gel supplements are the easiest in digestion and are preferred by many users. These include soft gel capsules or liquid capsules, hard gel capsules and vitamin tablets.

Here ideas to choose the best biotin hair treatment

Do your research

Consult widely. The best information can be obtained from your doctor. If you are too busy to see your doctor, go online and find some info. The internet is a great resource but beware of websites promoting fake and poor-quality products.

Check Ratings and Reviews from reputable online stores

Check authoritative websites that allow users to rate and review products. A good example is Amazon. If there are thousands of positive reviews and 4 or 5-star ratings, then the possibility of it being an effective product is very high. However, beware some manufacturers pay users so they can give positive reviews.  Focus on reviews from verified non-biased buyers.

Opt for Biotin supplements with Natural Ingredients.

Biotin supplements with natural ingredients are the best. Check on the label for details like gluten-free, preservative-free, and non-GMO etc.

 Be Cautious of Cheap Biotin Supplements

Cheap is expensive…! If it is very cheap, then it must have been made from artificial ingredients that may damage your hair and scalp and even worsen hair loss. Never sacrifice quality for affordability.

Top Biotin Tablets/Pillls/Supplements for Hair

Some of the most popular biotin pills brands for hair growth include;

  1. Incite Nutrition Biotin Hair and Nail Food Supplement
  2. Natrol Biotin Maximun Strength 10000mcg
  3. Natrol Biotin Tablets 1000mcg
  4. Sports Research High Potency Biotin
  5. TOBIAS Optimum Phytoceramides Plus Biotin, Collagen, Hyaluronic Acid & Silica
  6. Island’s Miracle Pure Biotin Ultra Vitamins for Hair Growth
  7. Zenwise Labs Hairgrowth Biotin Vitamins + DHT Blocker
  8. Spring Valley Biotin
  9. Now Foods Biotin
  10. Spring Valley Biotin
  11. Amazing Nutrition Biotin
  12. Nature’s Bounty Super Potency Biotin Soft Gels, 5000mcg
  13. Solgar Biotin Vegetable Capsules, 5000mcg

Pure Biotin oil for hair growth

Biotin is a major ingredient in many hair products like oil and shampoo. Hair oil with biotin has moisturizing properties that make it good for dry, thin hair. This helps to restore hair strength and sheen. This, alongside other safe hair practices like cleaning and regular trimming will help you grow hair longer and healthier

Unfortunately, a pure biotin oil for hair growth does not some seem to exist in the market as per now. Most people mix other oils with biotin.

Biotin Powder, Topical Cream & Shampoo for Hair

Based on how biotin works for your hair, crushing the pills to create powder or applying it as a topical cream will not be of much significance. How it helps hair when topically applied is not yet clear. Some argue that biotin cannot be absorbed thorough your skin or scalp.

One study, concluded that biotin can be absorbed through both normal and dermatitis-affected human skin. However, this study had nothing to do with hair.

Recommended reading: Biotin and Collagen Shampoo for Hair growth, does it work and top brands

 Biotin and Zinc, Folic Acid & Niacin for Hair

Biotin and zinc

Zinc is known to play a role in your health. It is believed that zinc deficiency actually can lead to weakening keratin-the protein structure which the hair follicle is made of. This eventually can lead to hair shedding, thinning and loss.

Further Reading: Zinc for hair loss

Folic acid or biotin for hair growth

Folic acid is another vitamin thought to be good for hair growth. Here is detailed article on folic acid for hair and reviews when compared to biotin

Niacin and biotin

Just like biotin, Niacin (Vitamin B3 or nicotinic acid) is water-soluble vitamin that is important for your hair. It is known to dilate the blood vessels which facilitates improved blood circulation. This process in turn nourishes your scalp and hair follicles.

Further Reading: Niacin for hair and other health benefits

Biotin Hair Growth Side Effects

Below are some of the know bad effects of biotin.

  • Skin eruptions/breakout
  • Itchiness of the skin
  • Rash and
  • In extreme cases, eosinophilic pleuropericardial effusion.

While biotin can be very beneficial for hair growth, it is not a guarantee taking biotin will be an instant fix for your hair growth.  As mentioned earlier, there is just not enough scientific evidence to prove that biotin supplementation can improve hair loss. It’s important to understand why you are experiencing hair loss in the first place, it may be something that needs to be addressed a different way before trying to supplement with biotin. Do remember to consult your doctor.

More Interesting Biotin Information

 

 

 

 

125 Comments

  1. ADIJAT

    February 19, 2015 at 9:43 am

    This site is very good in my opinion, I got the information that I need.
    I have a question here, can a properly controlled diabetic type-2 use Biotin and what milligramme?

    • Charl

      February 19, 2015 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks Adijat for checking by. For people with type 2 diabetes, studies indicate that a combination of biotin and chromium might improve blood sugar. In one particular study 2 milligrammes were used. However, it is very important that you seek advice from your doctor before trying it.

  2. Amanda

    September 15, 2015 at 9:33 am

    I’m have been reading about biotin.. I bought a bottle of biotin at the dollar store I think the brand is rexell or something spelled like that it’s the 1000 one and on the bottle out says take 1 tablet five things a day it’s that to much for a person just starting to use??.I took five tablets between 8:30 am and 6pm .. In my opinion I think it’s to much .. Please help.!!!

    • Charl

      September 15, 2015 at 5:48 pm

      Hi Amanda. Thanks for visiting DurableHealth. Generally Biotin is known to be safe and there are no dietary limitations. 1 tablet 5 times a day sounds too much for a starter. Results tend to differ from one person to another. For some it works while for others it does not work. The differences in results may be because of different levels of activities and metabolism rates, age, diet, health conditions etc.(refer above). 1-2 tablets dosage a day is usually recommended for adults. It is highly recommended that you seek further advice from your doctor before use especially if you are expectant, nursing or taking any other medications.

  3. Pranit

    October 17, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    Very useful article on Biotin, Very nice uses of biotin, hair loss problem can be treated with these useful tips of biotin.

  4. jacky quah

    October 22, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    how do i purchase

    • Charl

      October 25, 2015 at 5:27 pm

      Hi Jacky, you can order it from Amazon online store. However, biotin is also in some of the foods you eat.

  5. JAYMAN ONEILL

    October 25, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    My hair is fuller since i started using 5000MCG of BIOTIN, notice difference in about 2-3months

  6. HannahT

    October 27, 2015 at 2:25 am

    Please help. My hair has always been my pride and joy. I figured since it is pretty damn healthy, it could deal with some bleach damage. And I figured the master stylist who did all the color-corrections would know how much would be too much. I was wrong, and now I want to burst into tears every time I look at my hair or touch it. I just don’t know what to do. my hair has also NEVER been shorter than this and it breaks and falls out. What should i do to regrow hair?

    • Charl

      November 9, 2015 at 10:13 am

      Hello Hannah, I understand what you are going through. The nice thing is that you have already figured out the cause which in this case is the bleaching. It depends on how severe the bleaching was on your scalp. If it was minor, that is if your scalp was not severely burnt, your hair will definitely grow back in a few months. Give it time. However, do check with your doctor to find out the extent to which the bleaching damaged your scalp. Biotin has helped some individuals regrow their hair. It may also work for you. Here are more helpful resources
      How to regrow hair naturally
      Hair crazy Forum questions: Hair falling out after bleaching roots

  7. Tamilselvi

    November 27, 2015 at 4:00 am

    Hi !
    I am tamil. I bought 1000mcg from ebay; its been two weeks that I am using it.. Still din find any differences on hairfall, but I hope it will work for me. The question that I wanted to ask is, I want to increase the intake of this gel, I am taking it only in the morning.. In which possible way I can increase the intake? And can I start using 5000 mcg , once I complete this 1000 mcg . Thank you.

    • Charl

      November 29, 2015 at 4:16 am

      Hi Tamil, it usually takes 2-3 week to see results. However, this period may differ from one individual to another. Therefore it may take more than two weeks for you to see results. Taking it twice or three times a day may be possible way to increase your intake. You can also increase to 5000mcg. Do consult your doctor for further advice. He/she will recommend the right dosage after examining your health status.

  8. Kari

    January 18, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    Hi, my hair is starting to thin out because of medications for RA. Can biotin help/prevent further hair loss?

    • Charl

      January 19, 2016 at 6:42 pm

      Hi Kari, Biotin may help to some extent but as long as you are still taking the Rheumatoid Arthritis medications you are likely to experience hair thinning or even hair loss. This is usually because of the substances with which the medications are made up of. Mostcommon ones include methotrexate, Leflunomide & Arava. However, most these medications are known to be viable and as such, you really ought not to stop the medications especially when it is a mild case. In severe cases a possible remedy may be to lower the dosage for the medications. Likewise, your rheumatologist might recommend switching to another drug. Including biotin in this regimen may help thicken your hair. Do forget to consult your dermatologist for further details or advice.

  9. Hannah

    February 8, 2016 at 4:25 am

    Hi! Is there a noticeable difference/significant difference regarding hair growth with increasing from a 5,000 mcg dose to a 10,000 mcg dose? Common sense would tell me that the results may come twice as fast and possibly twice as good with the 10,000 mcg dose than the 5,000 mcg. However, I understand that at a certain point/past a certain dosage, efficacy of vitamins seem to work the same instead of better. I hope this makes sense. I guess what I’m asking is that: will my hair grow twice as fast if I up my 5,000 mcg dosage of biotin to 10,000 mcg? Thank you!

    • Charl

      February 8, 2016 at 6:46 pm

      Hi Hanna, some users have observed a significant difference when they take 10000mcg while for others there has been no difference. Other individuals say that this high dosage has resulted to breakouts. Considering that it is water-soluble, it is believed to be save. As you’ve said, at a certain point/past a certain dosage, efficacy of vitamins seem to work the same instead of better. This makes sense. If you decide to up your dosage, it may work or not work. However, you need an okay from you doctor first. He/she will examine you and find out if it is necessary to increase the dosage.Please let us know the results in case you will double the dosage.

  10. Kamielya

    February 16, 2016 at 11:02 pm

    Hi . I’m 21 and just brought Spring valley 10,000 MCG of biotin from Walmart and I weight only 104 pounds (fast metabolism) i don’t have a doctor and I am only taking it for damaged overly treated piping hair. Plus I also suffer from nerve problems in the face. Is this a OK dosage? And is it OK to take with milk ??? Oh and BTW I never taken biotin before so I’m just being precautious …

    • Charl

      February 17, 2016 at 2:48 pm

      Hi, Kamielya, Biotin is a water-soluble type of vitamin. This implies that it is regularly cleaned out your system. What this means is that it is safe even in high doses. Research has actually proven this. Milk is actually one of the natural sources of biotin. According to the university of Maryland Medical Center,there are reports that biotin helps improve symptoms of nerve damage (Peripheral neuropathy) especially in the feet, hands, legs, or arms. If it is the first time you are taking it, consider starting with a smaller dose, see if it sits well with your body then increase the dosage gradually.

  11. Stephanie

    March 14, 2016 at 2:53 am

    Other than biotin, what other vitamins help hair growth? Where can I find these vitamins? How do these vitamins compare with biotin? Is biotin the best vitamin supplement for hair growth? Please highlight briefly. Will really appreciate your help. Thank you in advance….

  12. jay

    March 17, 2016 at 12:13 am

    My hair has gotten thinner over the past few years and now it is at its worst. I was wondering if biotin would work.

    • Charl

      March 18, 2016 at 2:00 pm

      Hi Jay. Thanks for visiting DurableHealth. Biotin as vitamin can help. There are a lot positive reviews all over. Give it a try and please do remember to come back and share the results

      • Rome

        September 3, 2016 at 12:07 am

        I took beta blocker pills and hair line thinner could biotin help any mg and niacin b12. And can I crush pill mix coconut oil organic mix on scalp eny suggestions

        • Charl

          September 7, 2016 at 6:01 pm

          Biotin, Niacin & Coconut oil play an important role in growing and keeping your hair healthy

  13. missy

    March 17, 2016 at 12:57 am

    My hair was falling out like crazy! Biotin does help – I am taking biotin 1000 for over a year now, but i still had hair falling out. I did a full physical at my doctor and dermatologist. He recommended I change my shampoo & conditioner because i was using stuff from the store that was full of chemicals. I now use the Somaluxe Paradise Shampoo which is all natural and I have noticed my hair stopped falling out. Chemicals are so dangerous, and I wish I knew this before! Use the Somaluxe Shampoo – Take Biotin, and that should work. Im hoping it will not grow the rest of my hair back that I lost to harmful shampoos!

    • Charl

      March 18, 2016 at 2:01 pm

      Hi Missy! Thanks for your contribution. It is very true that chemicals found in most hair products are harmful especially to your hair. Another tip is to check the label for details about the ingredients. There is plenty of information on the label.

  14. sudha

    March 20, 2016 at 2:45 pm

    Sudha.
    I have more hair loss and my hair is very thin.is biotin will work for me?

    • Charl

      March 23, 2016 at 2:07 am

      Hello Sudha, You can give biotin a try. It has worked for some individuals meaning that it may also work for you. Remember to come back and share your results.

  15. karthik

    April 29, 2016 at 10:04 am

    I have been using minoxidil for 4 months and my hair fall has not stopped should i stop using it.. if i stop using it will it cause any further problems. And after reading your useful tips i have started taking biotin tablets from few days will it hell in stopping hair fall..
    Thank you

  16. Raston

    April 29, 2016 at 7:10 pm

    I’m 22 year old male & my hair is thinning on the crown of my head & I was wondering if biotin would help & what dosage I should take

    • Charl

      May 10, 2016 at 8:49 am

      Hi Raston, give Biotin a try. It has worked for some individuals. For your age, the amount you need is 30mcg. However, other than your age, the dosage of biotin you are required to take may also depend on your health status. Therefore, be sure to check with your doctor before taking this supplement.

  17. karthik

    April 30, 2016 at 7:27 am

    I have been using minoxidil for 4 months and
    my hair fall has not stopped should i stop
    using it.. if i stop using it will it cause any
    further problems. And after reading your useful
    tips i have started taking biotin tablets from
    few days will it help in stopping hair fall?

    • Charl

      May 10, 2016 at 9:54 am

      Hi Karthik, Minoxidil is a topical application that is known to enhance growth hair. After looking around, the available information states that the earliest you should expect results from Rogaine is 4 months. According to some individuals like Dr. McAndrews, you should give it up to 14 months. Biotin may help. It has worked for individuals with a similar problem. But before that, you should establish what is causing your hair to fall.There could be a better solution other than Minoxidil or supplements like Biotin.

  18. Subir

    May 12, 2016 at 4:02 am

    I have use biotin 1000 plus, last 16 days. But hairfall not stoped. How much time to take stop hair fall and biotin 1000 + is regrowth new hair?

    (prescribed from doctor)

    • Charl

      May 13, 2016 at 5:55 pm

      Hi Subir, you should give it more time. According to user who biotin has worked for, results start to show within the first three to four weeks but it may take longer. It does not work the same for everyone.

      • Subir

        May 14, 2016 at 3:31 am

        Thanks charl!
        PRP treatment is better for stop hairfall?
        I have use Bioderma Node DS+ shampooing for hair dandruff. It is right for me?

        • Charl

          May 16, 2016 at 2:59 am

          Hi Subir, we do not have sufficient information on how Biodermal Node DS+ works on hair dandruff. So we cannot say if it is right or NOT right for you. We will review it soon. Stay tuned for updates. Thanks for the question though.

  19. Subir

    May 17, 2016 at 8:46 am

    Thanks charl!
    Can you tell me the PRP treatment or therapy. It will be work to stop hair fall and grow new hair?

    • Charl

      May 20, 2016 at 3:17 am

      Hello Subir. We do not have sufficient information on platelet rich plasma (PRP) therapy and how it works in regard to hair fall. However, stay tuned we will be publishing a detailed review on this.

  20. Chantal McCulligh

    May 24, 2016 at 3:25 pm

    try to go with a natural herbal based shampoo like Nisim or NewHair Biofactors or FAST but keep in mind that FAST is a shampoo that grows existing hair faster and will not stop hair loss. If herbal based shampoos don’t work for you then you may be forced to go with a chemical based shampoo with Minoxidil in it. just be aware of the side effects and that even Minoxidil based shampoos do not work for everyone.

  21. Jessica derritt

    May 27, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    Im using your product but its causung alot of hair shedding. I take 5000 mcg with vitamin B COMPLEX. What is it that im doing wrong? Please help. I also drink 8 cups of water a day.

    • Charl

      June 13, 2016 at 5:29 pm

      Hello Jessica, there is some evidence that biotin, a B complex vitamin, can help in hair growth. However, owing to the fact that different people react to biotin in different ways, it may not work for everyone. You should check with your doctor to find out if there may be any other possible cause of your hair fall. You can as well reduce the dosage and see what happens. If reducing the dosage doesn’t work, stop taking biotin and see if there will be any changes.

  22. Amber

    July 3, 2016 at 4:11 am

    Hey. My names Amber and I had a small spot go bald due to a pregnancy hormone, will this help my hair grow back faster. Is there any other medication you need to take with biotin.
    (I started taking TWO 5,000mcg once a day 2 days ago.. )

    • Charl

      July 6, 2016 at 5:04 pm

      Hi Amber, thank you for visiting Durablehealth. Yes biotin can help your hair grow faster. However, it does not always work for everyone. It works for some individuals while for others it does not work. Different people react to this vitamin supplement in different ways. Biotin is usually considered safe even in high doses but it is recommended you consult your doctor for further details on how much of it you need to take. As for other medications for hair growth, you can try Minoxidil (Rogaine),Ketoconazole (Nizoral),Cimetidine (Tagamet), Spironolactone (Aldactone), Cyproterone Acetate, Ketoconazole (Nizoral) Finasteride (Propecia, Proscar) Oral Contraceptives and Cyproterone Acetate with Ethinyloestradiol (Diane 35, Diane 50) to mention just but a few. Keep tuned on, we will be reviewing each of this medication in upcoming articles.

  23. Akshay

    July 3, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    I am 23yrs old, I loose 10-15 hairs a day, my most hairs are thick and strong and some hairs are thinning at the top and there is a small bald patch at the thinned area, will consuming biotin 10000mcg and other vitamins and minerals like zinc, iron, folic acid and omega3 for 3 months will lower the hairfall and regrow new hair near the small patches?

    • Charl

      July 6, 2016 at 5:08 pm

      Hi Akshay, Biotin and the list of vitamins and minerals you have mentioned can help. However, consult you doctor for details on how much of each you need to take. Please remember to come back and share the results.

      • Akshay

        July 15, 2016 at 7:18 pm

        Also taking biotin will help me get my hair thicker and stronger and cover my small bald patches?

        • Charl

          July 16, 2016 at 1:50 am

          Hi Akshay, Biotin may help. It has helped some users strengthen as well as regrow their hair. However, before starting to take it, consult your doctor first to establish if you really need it and how much you can take. Please, do remember to come back and share your results.

          • Akshay

            July 20, 2016 at 9:57 am

            I am trying to add saw palmetto with biotin, will saw palmetto help me lower my hair loss?

          • Charl

            July 29, 2016 at 4:21 am

            Hello Akshay, saw palmetto can help lower hair loss. Be sure to check with your doctor to determine how much of it and biotin you need. Keep checking around on our website, we are yet to review saw palmetto for hair loss/growth

  24. rapidhairsolutions

    July 13, 2016 at 11:26 am

    I like this product of Hair oil and shampoo .
    However, stay tuned we will be publishing a detailed review on this.

  25. Akshay

    August 1, 2016 at 7:47 pm

    Is saw palmetto beneficial to lower thinning of hair?

    • Charl

      August 9, 2016 at 5:35 pm

      Hi Ashlay, we are working an article on that.

  26. Teddy

    August 20, 2016 at 6:40 am

    I’m a 19 year old guy and I’m already dealing with hair loss. What should I do?

    • Charl

      August 23, 2016 at 5:37 pm

      Hi Teddy, you are not a lone. Some guys report hair loss as early as 16 years. Well, it is quite hard to recommend a solution that will help you. There exist many solutions. It is hard to determine which suits you because we are not sure of what causing your hair loss. First of all you need to check with you doctor to find out why exactly you are losing hair. After knowing the cause(s) it will be easy to find best solution.

    • Rome

      September 3, 2016 at 12:11 am

      Dan Teddy 19 dude if ur that young there nothing u can do its naturral probably ur dad is bald I’m 26 my hair line thinner do to beta blocker pill I take now I won’t take so much more vitamin

  27. swathi

    August 21, 2016 at 11:43 am

    hii this is swathi..im 20 and suffering from thyroid. i am prescribed thyronorm 75 mcg. i have hairloss can i take biotin? please suggest the dosage and number of times per day.. i consult a doctor who lives in anothertown and even she is not available through phone. soo i need your suggestion

    • Charl

      August 23, 2016 at 6:01 pm

      Hi Swathi, hair loss is a common side effect of taking thyronorm. Yes, biotin may help in slowing the rate of hair loss but unfortunately there isn’t enough information on how biotin interacts with thyronorm. This implies that the best answer should be from your doctor who has already examined you. Some individuals do take biotin with thyronorm but it strictly under a doctor’s instructions.

  28. Elizabeth

    August 25, 2016 at 8:39 pm

    I’m 18 years old my hair has been falling out like crazy ! I have curly hair and I’m wondering if biotin would help it stop falling and maybe make it a little thicker ? Help please ! ?

    • Charl

      August 26, 2016 at 6:40 pm

      Hi Elizabeth, I can imagine how terrible it is to experience crazy hair fall at your age. Well, there are some other individuals almost your age who are also losing hair. Yes, biotin can help reduce the rate of hair fall. It can as well help hair growth and thickening. It has worked for some individuals. Go ahead and try it. Please remember to come back and share results.

  29. Geeta

    September 5, 2016 at 7:24 am

    Hi. This side Geeta From New Delhi. And i am 25 yrs old . Actually i did rebonding my hair in the months of Apr-16. but after 2-3 month my hair fall had start and still hair falling i am very worried about that .so my frnd told me that about biotin oil and capsule ..
    so my question is that . Biotin oil and Capsule will effective or not.??? and how much time it will take. and how many time it use. i wish that my hair grow faster and stop hair falll.

    is it possible.

    • Charl

      September 7, 2016 at 5:56 pm

      Hi Geeta, quite a huge number of ladies experience hair falling after rebonding. This is because hair follicles are brutally damaged by the harsh chemicals that are used in the process. Hair falling after rebonding is a serious issue for sure. Studies have shown that biotin can help your hair grow. However there is not enough information showing its effectiveness on regrowing hair after rebonding. For your age the dosage is 30 mcg. However even in high doses, biotin is thought to be safe. It is recommended that you take it consistently for about 4-6 months for best results. Also ensure getting good diet. Stop Rebonding. Take enough water. Try to massage your hair with essential oils. You can also try home remedies such as Aloe Egg Mask.

  30. Akshay

    September 12, 2016 at 5:33 pm

    Hi its Akshay here again, ive found that iam suffering from telogen effluvium i dont have a receeding hairline but i have diffuse thinning at the top and the sides of my scalp i loose around 10-20 hairs per day. Will consuming biotin vitamin b6, b12, protein and omega3 supplements and also consuming foods rich in iron and zinc will help me resolve this problem and and will make my hair stronger and thicker?

    • Charl

      September 17, 2016 at 5:22 pm

      Hi Akshay, Ys! All the products/nutrients you have mentioned are good for your health.

  31. Jyoti

    October 16, 2016 at 7:31 am

    Hi.. I’m 26. I’m having severe hairfall. I will be with no hair if my hairfall continues like this. Also I have shoulder length hair and it never grow more than that. I love long hair.. Is boitin help for me ? How much intake do I need to take ? And how long ? Please suggest!

    • Charl

      October 21, 2016 at 2:52 am

      Hello Jyoti, I understand that must be terrible experience. Well, have you determined the exact cause of your hair fall? Finding the exact cause can help you find a more effective and fast remedy. As for biotin, it is true it can help your hair grow. There is some evidence. For your age, the dosage is 30mcg but it is usually safe even in high amounts.How long it will take varies from individual to individual but you should be able to notice results once it starts working.

    • Bala

      November 20, 2016 at 7:58 am

      Really Nice Post..
      Thanks

  32. Cari

    October 16, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    Hi,
    I have 38 years old, 120 pounds. I have take biotin 3000mg a day for one year. I did not see any difference on my thin damaged hair. Can I add another dosage of 5000mg? The total will be 8000mg daily. Please answer my question. Thank so much.

    • Charl

      October 21, 2016 at 2:41 am

      Hello Cari, Thanks for your contribution. Biotin is thought to be safe even in large doses. However, too much may come with side effects like outbreaks.If you’ve not experienced any side effect then you can comfortably increase the dosage. Instead jumping straight to 8000mg, move it to 5000mg then 8000.

  33. Jack

    October 17, 2016 at 6:40 am

    I m 24years old. My hair getting thiner from 4yrs back now. I lost almost major percentage of my hair and now vary few of hair is remain. Till now i am losing my hair daily. After visiting this site., your writing bring little hope. Should i try biotin now for getting thick hair? If so then how mg? Does zinc and vitamin b complex supliment related to hair regrowth?

    • Charl

      October 21, 2016 at 2:32 am

      Hi Jack.The recommended dosage for your age is 30mcg. However biotin is thought to be safe even in higher dosage. Stop and Seek medical attention if you experience unusual symptoms after taking it. Zinc and vitamin b complex supplements are some of essential vitamins and minerals for healthy hair growth.

  34. Gunja

    November 4, 2016 at 1:52 am

    I m 25 year old man. I have bad cut on my hair by barber through thinning scissor. Now my hair is thin in middle section as well as both of side section. My hair become thin. I have thick hair in middle section. Bt now thin.
    I see lots of review of biotin. I take biotin 5000 mcg. It can make my hair thick? It give me volume and thickness on my hair

    • Charl

      November 6, 2016 at 2:18 am

      Hello, yes it can improve your in terms of thickness and growth. Give it a try.

  35. Harry

    November 12, 2016 at 12:22 pm

    HI, I had chemical straightening done to my hair around 8 years ago and since then I have been facing a consistent hair fall. Can biotin help? what dosage should I intake? Please advise

    • Charl

      November 19, 2016 at 3:02 am

      Hi Harry! Yes, biotin can help. For adults the recommended dosage is 30mcg. However it usually safe even in high doses. Do consult with your doctor for further details.

  36. Gunja

    November 17, 2016 at 3:35 am

    Hi.
    Pls give ans as soon as possible.
    I m worried about my hair.
    It’s my pride.

  37. Gunjan

    November 17, 2016 at 5:18 am

    Hi
    How long take biotin work It?
    It’s weeks, months or years

    • Charl

      November 19, 2016 at 2:38 am

      Hello Gunjan, the duration it takes for biotin to show results will depend on a lot of factors starting from the status of your general health, the exact cause of your hair loss, whether you are taking it alone or with other drugs etc. If you are lucky, results will show in a few weeks(as from 3). If your are fairly lucky, expect results in about 3 months of use. For some users, it may take up to a year. You may never see results as well. The reason being, it does not work for everyone.

  38. Gunjan

    November 19, 2016 at 3:12 am

    Hello Charl,
    This is gunjan again.
    I were visited many site and saw biotin review.
    Review about fuller hair. Many users comment on their after taking biotin 5000 or 10000 give them fuller hair.
    So my question is biotin higher dose give better result?

    • Charl

      November 22, 2016 at 5:42 pm

      Hello Gunjan, Biotin is thought to be safe even in high doses. It may or may not give better results. Why? Individuals react to biotin differently. It does work for some people but for others it does not. Best way to go is to start with a small dose while monitoring the reaction. Gradually increase the dosage if you do not experience any bad effect…

  39. GD

    November 23, 2016 at 1:51 am

    Hello Charl,
    I brought natrol biotin fast dissolved 5000 mcg. In bottle tablets with silica packet has it. So what should I do? remove silica packet in the bottle or stay with that tablets?

  40. Arman

    November 30, 2016 at 4:19 pm

    Hi Charl,
    First of all I’m very glad to know DURABLE HEALTH. I’m Arman 32, years old. Actually I’m just worried about hair lost as I get older, I mean in the future… Is that ok to take biotin 5,000 mcg at the same time while I’m taking other suplements (vitamin C, vitamin E, collagen, glutathion and multiviamins and minerals). Is that ok to take biotin while taking the said suplements at the same time? By the way biotin is not just for hair. am I right? Biotin is good also for healthy skin and nails. Is that proven?
    I’m looking forward for your kind response. Thank you so much and God blessed. 🙂

    • Charl

      December 7, 2016 at 3:32 am

      Hello Arman. Not a lot of information is available on how biotin interacts with other medications/supplements. However, there is a possibility that biotin can decrease how quickly the liver breaks down some medications… Be cautious if the medication you are taking that are meant to be broken down by the liver. Find out more from your healthcare provider. True, biotin is not just for hair. It is also good for skin and nails. Even though most of the info supporting this is based on hearsay, there is some evidence owing to the fact that this is a vitamin.

  41. Gunjan

    December 1, 2016 at 11:19 am

    Hi, Charl.
    Gunjan here.
    I saw last night Hairanew supplement for hair, nail & skin. Amazon users are 4,355.
    Lots of users review is fuller and thicker hair.
    I think I should try it.
    11 ingredients in this supplement.
    Biotin 5000 mcg, vitamin A, vitamin E, Niacin
    Etc. So I want to try it may be it’s give me a good hair.
    So I want to say Charl can u give me advise about hairanew?

  42. Gunjan

    December 3, 2016 at 5:10 am

    Which vitamins make hair FULLER or THICKER?
    In market many supplement
    Example:- viviscal, Hairfinity, Hairanew, Nuviante. This supplement has many ingredients with biotin. If only biotin doesn’t work on hair. So we can give a try it?

  43. vijay

    December 5, 2016 at 6:24 pm

    5000 mcg Biotin with saw palmetto Extract (320 mg) + Pumpkin seed oil (180 mg). is good for hair regrowth ?? Can i get back my hair with above combination ??

    • Charl

      December 7, 2016 at 3:39 am

      Hello Vijay, There is some evidence that all the 3(biotin, saw palmetto & pumpkin seed oil) play a role in regrowing your hair. Go a head and give them a try. But do remember to consult your doctor for details.

  44. jodi wicksteed

    December 15, 2016 at 11:08 pm

    My daughter is 5 and has down syndrome. Her hair has halved in thickness over the past year and is almost balding int he front. I don’t think it is alopecia as she has no smooth bald patches (unless this is coming). Could I give her this supplement?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 11:55 am

      Hello Jodi. You can try it but your doctor is the best person to consult with first. For 4-8 years, the recommended dosage is 12 mcg

  45. twinkle

    December 16, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    i went for hair smoothening in january this year.. i had good hair but smoothening ruined my hair.. also m having some hormone imbalance in my body.. my hair has become so so so less… i feel so bad … m having extreme hair fall since then .. this article gives little hope .. m 21 in age .. hope biotin will help a bit 🙁

  46. Ankpatel

    December 26, 2016 at 6:52 am

    Hi, I’m wearing glasses for past 6 years now. I recently noticed bald spots behind my ears. I recently started taking biotin. Is it going to help regrow my hair in that area?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 11:46 am

      Yes it can help

  47. Ost Mott

    January 11, 2017 at 8:10 pm

    Hi All-

    For those who are interested in whether biotin can help with hair – when I took it as a supplement of 300 mpg per day, my hair color changed to dark brown and my hair became curly. I think it can reverse grayness. The first time I took it, it was about six weeks before I developed the dark brown curly hair. More recently, my MD suggested that I take it at 10,000 mag per day to increase thinning hair. The only down side to taking the biotin is that my skin is more dry, although perhaps that is due to winter and coffee intake.

    Regards-
    Omt

  48. Nick

    January 18, 2017 at 4:56 pm

    I’m losing about 150 hairs per day during shower. Now my scalps are easily visible. About 1-2 mm gap is visible between each and every hair. I tried a lot of protein serum and shampoos but still not getting any results. I’m 24 (M). I heard there is no side effects even if we take biotin in higher dosage. So Is it okay with 10000 mcg daily intake of biotin as a supplement?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:55 am

      Hello Nick, true, biotin is thought to be safe even in high amounts. However this varies from person to person. It does not sit well with some individuals. It is best to start from a small amount then increase with time. Do remember to seek advice from you doctor first.

  49. Pnutbutta

    January 20, 2017 at 11:32 pm

    I have low Vitamin D and going through menopause. Both, from what I read, contribute to my hair becoming thin and shedding terribly bad. I’ve been taking Biotin for about 2 weeks and Vit D3 with Calcium along with a multivitamin. Does Biotin help with what I’m dealing with and how long will it be to see some possible change? My hairline is thinning but hopefully all is not in vain.

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:50 am

      Hello Pnutbutta, biotin does help. It may from 2 to 3 weeks but this varies from person to another. Thank you for contribution

  50. Pnutbutta

    January 20, 2017 at 11:33 pm

    Oh…I’m 55 and in pretty good health…do take high blood pressure medicine.

  51. Sravani

    January 30, 2017 at 2:00 pm

    Iam 20 yrs old ..in july i found some cysts in ovaries….done with ultra sound and iam a pcod girl..should i take biotin if yes how much mpg should i take

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:40 am

      Hello Sravani, the effects of using biotin for individuals suffering from Poly-Cystic Ovarian Syndrome are somehow mixed up.
      It is true that biotin can help reduce PCOS-related hair loss. It seems to work for some individuals. Facial hair growth is one the symptoms of PCOS…doesn’t this mean that biotin can make this even worse? Some users claim that you are likely to turn to a man. Some also say that it may promote hair growth in unwanted area. This is especially when you are taking too much of this vitamin.
      In case you want to give it a try, the recommended dosage for your age is 30 mcg. If you notice any unusual hair growth, either reduce the amount or stop it completely.

  52. jho

    February 2, 2017 at 12:29 pm

    iv been taking biotin 5000mcg for more than 2 months now but i havent notice any change rather im getting drastic hair fall after shower. i am so worried that i might lose my hair if this happen everyday. help

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:03 am

      Hello Jho, could you be taking any other medication or anything that is reducing the effectiveness of biotin? Have you also established the exact cause of your hair fall? Biotin ought to encourage hair growth rather than hair fall. Stop taking and please check with your doctor for details.

  53. Dushara

    February 16, 2017 at 6:50 am

    Hi i’m Dushara.
    Still i’am 19 yrs old.i want to know the dosage of biotin for my hair loss.is it harm for our future? Most beauticians says that mininum biotin usage per day is 0.5mg.is it true? & I wanna a realized this problem because i have a great suffer about my hair.lossing my hair is increased day by day.please help me.

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 2:16 am

      Hello Dushara, the recommended dosage for your age is 30 mcg. If your body sits well with biotin (you experience no reaction), you can take any amount.Since Biotin is a water-soluble vitamin, it is safe even in large doses. It is advisable that you start small then you increase the dosage with time. Do remember to seek more advice from your doctor before taking any medications for hair loss. Why? Individuals react differently to different medications. For some people it works while for others it does not work

  54. Cristina

    February 23, 2017 at 9:52 pm

    Please help. My hair has always been my pride and joy. I figured since it is pretty damn healthy, it could deal with some bleach damage. And I figured the master stylist who did all the color-corrections would know how much would be too much. I was wrong, and now I want to burst into tears every time I look at my hair or touch it. I just don’t know what to do. my hair has also NEVER been shorter than this and it breaks and falls out. What should i do to regrow hair?

    • KJ

      June 30, 2017 at 6:52 pm

      Hi Christina! I think I may know of a product that could help. Shoot me a text! 646-389-8960.

  55. Teddy

    March 2, 2017 at 1:24 pm

    Hi, I’m Teddy. I am 21 now and my hair started to fall about a year ago. After reading this, I decided to give biotin a try. So, how much should I consume daily? 5000 mcg or 10 000 mcg?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 2:01 am

      Hello Teddy, the recommended dosage for is 30 mcg. If your body sits well with biotin, you can take any amount.Since Biotin is a water-soluble vitamin, it is safe even in large doses. It is advisable that you start from a small dose then you increase the dosage as time goes by. Do remember to seek more advice from your doctor before taking any medications for hair loss. Why? Individuals react differently to different medications. Thanks for visiting DurableHealth

  56. Nirmal Rawat

    March 5, 2017 at 5:14 pm

    Hi i want take BIOTIN 5000mcg.. please i wanna ask how many times we can take in a day.. means how much doses we can take in a day.. Please suggest

    • Charl

      March 7, 2017 at 2:50 am

      Hello Nirmal, the dosage depends on factors like age, health status etc. However, biotin is usually safe even in high doses. . Here is an overview of recommended intake as per age.
      Ages1-3 shoulld take 8 mcg
      Ages 4-8 should take 12mcg
      Ages 9-13 should take 20 mcg
      Ages 14-18 should take 25mcg
      Adults should take 30 mcg or 35mcg(lacting mothers)
      Do remember to consult your doctor for further details

  57. Jay

    March 24, 2017 at 6:19 am

    I should mention that I have kinda weak hair so prazosin probably exacerbated the problem.

  58. Shannon

    June 7, 2017 at 2:30 pm

    Hello,
    I had tried 5 mg biotin back in 2012, small hair started sprouting on the front edges at one week, I was really happy but it gave me cystic acne all over my forehead. Like people thought I had some skin problem. So i had to stop. Since then, over the years I’ve taken medications to reduce my acne and it’s cleared out. Now I bought another bottle of biotin just to give it a try again, and I’m on the 5th day all I’ve had is just one acne (better than the last time where I had like a breakout all over). Im drinking copious amount of water, I’ve heard it helps not breakout.
    My sister is a proof of hair growth using biotin she was taking medication for some other health issue and she lost 80% hair and then doc put her on 10mg biotin, after four months I see she had recovered 40% of her hair back. But she had bad cystic acne (which she didn’t mind!). It’s been two years she stopped biotin her breakout stopped but she’s left with marks and no more clear skin.

    • Charl

      July 18, 2017 at 2:56 am

      Hello Shannon, thanks a lot for your contribution.

  59. jessy

    June 8, 2017 at 1:20 am

    hi i am jessy,i finished a bottle of natrol biotin 10000mcg 15 days ago and started a new bottle, i was wondering how long should i keep taking it? should i stop after finishing the second bottle to avoid overdose or sth and if so should that be gradually by taking a pill every 2 days for example ? another question : i lately read that its better to start with a lower dose of 5000 mcg or so ,,,should i start lowering my dosage after i finish this bottle or my body is used to the 10000 so i should stick to it ?

    I’m looking forward for your kind response. Thank you so much.

    • Charl

      July 18, 2017 at 2:54 am

      Hello Jessy, thanks for your question. If your body sits well with supplement then you keep on taking. It is usually known to be safe even in high doses. On how long it takes to see results…it varies from person to person. Results may show in like 21 days or it may take months.

  60. Raj

    June 19, 2017 at 6:54 am

    Hi, i am using biotin and multimineral tablets from past 18 days but it has not shown hair regrowth… so should i start taking natrol biotin supplements beecause the above biotin and multiminetal tablets is not helpful gor me

    • Charl

      July 18, 2017 at 2:48 am

      The time it takes to show results varies from person to person. It may take longer than 18 days. Be a little patient.

  61. hhy clinic

    June 19, 2017 at 11:34 am

    nice article on hair loss treatment, there is a list of medicine and treatment on hair loss but i think hair transplant known for best hair loss treatment. but prior that we can try biotin, prp, laser hair care like the products and treatment which is totally depend on you

  62. Mark Randell

    July 9, 2017 at 12:11 pm

    Hi, I have thinning hair and did use regaine foam for a year which which did make a difference but I had to stop as It caused my face to swell and I think I had allergic reaction. I then started using Lipogaine for sensitive scalp which had to be discontinued and I realise the alergy might be minoxidil.ive recently looked into other products,there is one called procerin which you can use foam,shampoo and supplements.Shoukd I use these supplements or opt for a high strength biotin tablet?.I may use the foam which has saw palmetto in it and all some known dht blockers in it to see if it helps hair fall and thickness.I have heard the flowing are good for hair emu oil, pumpkin seed oil,Caster oil and rosemary oil,wheat germ oil which I may add to the foam but what unsure how many drops.I already use Pure Aloe vera Gel,I’d be interested to know your thoughts

    • Charl

      July 18, 2017 at 2:07 am

      Hello Mark, thanks for your contribution. The best way to find out what can work best for you is to try out all the product. All the products you’ve mentioned are known to help hair but they do not work for everyone. Give biotin a try and see what happens. For the other products, check the label: that is where details on how much you need are shown.

  63. Ms. Whitten

    August 5, 2017 at 9:30 pm

    My beautiful 34 year old daughter’s head is 90% bald. This is life changing for her. she went to dermatology and they did several injections in the head and put her on steroids for lengthy time to no avail.wasting money is what happened. Please what options will work to grow her hair back.Rogaine for women? Biotin?
    Thank you.

    • Charl

      August 16, 2017 at 6:07 pm

      Hello Whitten, both biotin and rogaine have shown incredible results when used for hair growth. Choosing between them can be tricky. The best option is to try each and then choose the one that works.

  64. Ramaswamy

    October 17, 2017 at 6:08 am

    Specifically to those who are suffering from Hair Loss, Biotin was known to be beneficial in helping Hair Grow back because of the Vitamin’s role in the body specific to Hair and Skin, including the Nails, starting from the cells that make up the Hair under our skin, similar to how nails are made essentially.

  65. paulat

    October 26, 2017 at 7:18 pm

    My hair was pretty dead, thin, falling out, and just wasn’t looking good at all. After using the Lady Soma Vitamin Hair Boost for only two weeks I have noticed a HUGE difference in my hair! It feels so much thicker and healthier and it has grown more than it has in a long time! My hair stopped growing and it would just break off, but this product has totally transformed my hair

  66. sandeep

    November 11, 2017 at 10:12 am

    Where I can buy biotin capsules as I have baldness problem n my age is 35

  67. Jordan

    November 14, 2017 at 5:33 pm

    I’ve been loosing my hair slowly over the years, and I think that finding something to help slow that process would be good. I’m glad you talked about how biotin is something that can help with hair growth, and I think I’d like to try it. I’ll have to see if I can find some natural biotin for men, and see if it has the results you said it would! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.