Biotin

Biotin for Hair Loss , Thinning & Reviews – How Much Biotin for Hair loss &Thinning?

By  | 

How can you use biotin for hair loss and thinning? Is it effective in preventing hair loss? How much of the vitamin should you take to stop hair thinning and alopecia in both men and women? Here’s a guide on how to use biotin effectively for hair loss with user reviews and before and after photos.

There are many hair growth supplements out there. Starting with natural remedies for hair nourishment to commercial products for hair growth. Shampoos, conditioners, hair masks and many others can be used to stop hair loss and promote hair growth. But biotin? Is biotin good for hair loss? Is it an effective vitamin for people suffering from thin hair, alopecia and problems related to hair loss? Below, we will look at all the ins and outs of using biotin to restore hair and prevent hair loss.

Many vitamins are sold on the market with the pitch that they help hair regrowth. Vitamin E is one of them. Looking at the reviews and ratings when it comes to hair growth and regrowth results, it does not perform quite as well as biotin does for people with hair loss. Biotin, today, is considered one of the best vitamins for hair growth alongside prenatal vitamins. So, how much biotin should you take for hair loss?

Is Biotin Good for Hair Loss?Biotin For Hair Loss

No surprise, biotin is good for not only hair loss but also almost anything to do with good hair. From growing long hair to helping you regrow lost hair, it is widely known that you can use biotin to thicken your hair, make it grow long and look shinier.

Take a look at most of the hair products that promise and deliver the best results for your hair. You will notice one little ingredient that seems to be stuck in there – biotin. Shampoos for hair growth, conditioners for volumizing hair and hair growth regimens – they all contain the ingredient biotin. It tells one simple fact; that though there is no concrete evidence to support how biotin helps hair grow, it is definitely good for hair loss and hair regrowth.

There are probably very minor side effects of using biotin for hair loss treatment. Therefore, you can as well say that biotin is safe for hair loss in men and women.

How Much Biotin for Hair Loss

How Much Biotin For Hair Loss

Biotin 5000mcg

Taking the right dosage is important when it comes to just about any pill or supplement for growing hair back after a bout of hair loss. But what is the right biotin dosage for men with hair loss problems? The truth is that you do not need a lot of biotin in your system to stop the loss of hair. Your body probably produces enough by itself – just enough for your needs. However, when you want to treat hair loss in men and women, the right dosage becomes crucial.

The appropriate dosage of biotin for hair loss will depend on two important aspects of the person taking the pills. These are:

  • Your health condition and
  • Your age

That said, how much biotin should you take for hair loss? What dosage will stop hair from falling off and disappearing? Will you experience any side effects if you overdose on biotin vitamins? In essence, there is no such thing as an ‘established dosage’ of biotin vitamin for hair loss problems.

Dietary amounts can be as much as you may want, or equally as low. The results will vary from one person to the other as we will see in the reviews below.

The daily intakes of biotin have, however, been set to the following limits for people who are trying to grow hair and do away with the problem of hair loss:

  • 7 micrograms for children below 12 months
  • 8 micrograms for children between 1 and 3 years
  • 12 micrograms of biotin for children between 4 and 8 years
  • 20 mcg for those aged 9 to thirteen years
  • 25 mcg for ages fourteen to eighteen and finally
  • 30 mcg for adults above 18 years

These limits have been set by the Institute of Medicine. Worth noting is that there is no higher limit of how much biotin for hair loss to take.

Biotin for Thinning Hair-Does Biotin help Thinning Hair?

Biotin-for-Thinning-Hair

Thinning Hair

What is the link between Biotin and hair thinning? Is biotin good for thinning hair? How much Biotin for thinning hair?
One thing you should know is that thinning hair and losing hair can be a normal part of ageing. Age also makes hair become finer. However, according to WebMD, thinning of your hair may also be due to other causes or factors such as genes, chemotherapy treatments, overstyling of your hair,stress, thyroid problems etc. Does biotin help hair thinning? Biotin definitely helps with hair thinning. Lack of biotin or biotin deficiency is a condition is usually identified by its symptoms such thinning of the hair. This therefore means biotin is good for hair since without it your hair will thin.
How much Biotin for Thinning Hair?
Just as the dosage for hair loss, how much you need for hair thinning will depend on two important aspects of the person taking the pills. These are your health condition and your age. The dosage is the same as for hair loss- a recommendation from the Institute of Medicine

How Effective is Biotin for Hair Loss in Women & Men

According to most of the reviews and testimonials found online, men and women who take biotin to help with the problem of hair loss have seen positive results. However, this is not for every other person who consumes the supplements and pills to get rid of hair loss problems.

So, how effective is biotin for hair loss? Though biotin is good for hair loss, it is highly and positively reviewed for hair growth. It is used to grow black hair, blonde and many other types of hair and is said to work better than for those people who use it for hair loss. Note the following:

  • Taking biotin to stop hair loss takes a longer time for you to see results compared to when it is taken to grow hair long and thicker
  • Biotin is primarily used as a hair growth regimen. However, high dosages of the pill may help slow down or prevent the loss of hair
  • It should not be taken as a medication or treatment for hair loss.

Biotin for Hair Loss & Thinning Reviews

A quick look at biotin for hair loss reviews can give you a hint of what to expect when you start taking biotin pills to help with hair regrowth. There are plenty of customer testimonials and photos online to help you examine the possible effects of using this natural supplement to treat alopecia.

Here are user reviews of those who have used biotin to grow hair after hair loss problems. You may also look at the photos in this post collected from online sources from those who volunteered to review products of biotin and how they hand an effect on their hair loss problems.

“I have had fragile fingernails for years. This capsule, 5000mcg daily, has renewed the strength of my nails .I saw results within 2 weeks and so I have recommended this product to many friends. Our daughter told me about this strength. She has taken it for hair loss which with the 5000 mcg dose, has also been effective for her.” [GNC.com]

“The good thing is that practically anyone can take biotin for hair loss. It works just as well for women as it does for men and no matter what age you start taking it, you should see a marked improvement.” [essentialvitaminsforhairgrowth.com]

More Interesting Biotin Information

 

 

 

 

59 Comments

  1. Pranit

    October 17, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    Very useful article on Biotin, Very nice uses of biotin, hair loss problem can be treated with these useful tips of biotin.

  2. JAYMAN ONEILL

    October 25, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    My hair is fuller since i started using 5000MCG of BIOTIN, notice difference in about 2-3months

  3. HannahT

    October 27, 2015 at 2:25 am

    Please help. My hair has always been my pride and joy. I figured since it is pretty damn healthy, it could deal with some bleach damage. And I figured the master stylist who did all the color-corrections would know how much would be too much. I was wrong, and now I want to burst into tears every time I look at my hair or touch it. I just don’t know what to do. my hair has also NEVER been shorter than this and it breaks and falls out. What should i do to regrow hair?

    • Charl

      November 9, 2015 at 10:13 am

      Hello Hannah, I understand what you are going through. The nice thing is that you have already figured out the cause which in this case is the bleaching. It depends on how severe the bleaching was on your scalp. If it was minor, that is if your scalp was not severely burnt, your hair will definitely grow back in a few months. Give it time. However, do check with your doctor to find out the extent to which the bleaching damaged your scalp. Biotin has helped some individuals regrow their hair. It may also work for you. Here are more helpful resources
      How to regrow hair naturally
      Hair crazy Forum questions: Hair falling out after bleaching roots

  4. jay

    March 17, 2016 at 12:13 am

    My hair has gotten thinner over the past few years and now it is at its worst. I was wondering if biotin would work.

    • Charl

      March 18, 2016 at 2:00 pm

      Hi Jay. Thanks for visiting DurableHealth. Biotin as vitamin can help. There are a lot positive reviews all over. Give it a try and please do remember to come back and share the results

      • Rome

        September 3, 2016 at 12:07 am

        I took beta blocker pills and hair line thinner could biotin help any mg and niacin b12. And can I crush pill mix coconut oil organic mix on scalp eny suggestions

        • Charl

          September 7, 2016 at 6:01 pm

          Biotin, Niacin & Coconut oil play an important role in growing and keeping your hair healthy

  5. missy

    March 17, 2016 at 12:57 am

    My hair was falling out like crazy! Biotin does help – I am taking biotin 1000 for over a year now, but i still had hair falling out. I did a full physical at my doctor and dermatologist. He recommended I change my shampoo & conditioner because i was using stuff from the store that was full of chemicals. I now use the Somaluxe Paradise Shampoo which is all natural and I have noticed my hair stopped falling out. Chemicals are so dangerous, and I wish I knew this before! Use the Somaluxe Shampoo – Take Biotin, and that should work. Im hoping it will not grow the rest of my hair back that I lost to harmful shampoos!

    • Charl

      March 18, 2016 at 2:01 pm

      Hi Missy! Thanks for your contribution. It is very true that chemicals found in most hair products are harmful especially to your hair. Another tip is to check the label for details about the ingredients. There is plenty of information on the label.

  6. karthik

    April 29, 2016 at 10:04 am

    I have been using minoxidil for 4 months and my hair fall has not stopped should i stop using it.. if i stop using it will it cause any further problems. And after reading your useful tips i have started taking biotin tablets from few days will it hell in stopping hair fall..
    Thank you

  7. Raston

    April 29, 2016 at 7:10 pm

    I’m 22 year old male & my hair is thinning on the crown of my head & I was wondering if biotin would help & what dosage I should take

    • Charl

      May 10, 2016 at 8:49 am

      Hi Raston, give Biotin a try. It has worked for some individuals. For your age, the amount you need is 30mcg. However, other than your age, the dosage of biotin you are required to take may also depend on your health status. Therefore, be sure to check with your doctor before taking this supplement.

  8. Chantal McCulligh

    May 24, 2016 at 3:25 pm

    try to go with a natural herbal based shampoo like Nisim or NewHair Biofactors or FAST but keep in mind that FAST is a shampoo that grows existing hair faster and will not stop hair loss. If herbal based shampoos don’t work for you then you may be forced to go with a chemical based shampoo with Minoxidil in it. just be aware of the side effects and that even Minoxidil based shampoos do not work for everyone.

  9. Jessica derritt

    May 27, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    Im using your product but its causung alot of hair shedding. I take 5000 mcg with vitamin B COMPLEX. What is it that im doing wrong? Please help. I also drink 8 cups of water a day.

    • Charl

      June 13, 2016 at 5:29 pm

      Hello Jessica, there is some evidence that biotin, a B complex vitamin, can help in hair growth. However, owing to the fact that different people react to biotin in different ways, it may not work for everyone. You should check with your doctor to find out if there may be any other possible cause of your hair fall. You can as well reduce the dosage and see what happens. If reducing the dosage doesn’t work, stop taking biotin and see if there will be any changes.

  10. Teddy

    August 20, 2016 at 6:40 am

    I’m a 19 year old guy and I’m already dealing with hair loss. What should I do?

    • Charl

      August 23, 2016 at 5:37 pm

      Hi Teddy, you are not a lone. Some guys report hair loss as early as 16 years. Well, it is quite hard to recommend a solution that will help you. There exist many solutions. It is hard to determine which suits you because we are not sure of what causing your hair loss. First of all you need to check with you doctor to find out why exactly you are losing hair. After knowing the cause(s) it will be easy to find best solution.

    • Rome

      September 3, 2016 at 12:11 am

      Dan Teddy 19 dude if ur that young there nothing u can do its naturral probably ur dad is bald I’m 26 my hair line thinner do to beta blocker pill I take now I won’t take so much more vitamin

  11. Elizabeth

    August 25, 2016 at 8:39 pm

    I’m 18 years old my hair has been falling out like crazy ! I have curly hair and I’m wondering if biotin would help it stop falling and maybe make it a little thicker ? Help please ! ?

    • Charl

      August 26, 2016 at 6:40 pm

      Hi Elizabeth, I can imagine how terrible it is to experience crazy hair fall at your age. Well, there are some other individuals almost your age who are also losing hair. Yes, biotin can help reduce the rate of hair fall. It can as well help hair growth and thickening. It has worked for some individuals. Go ahead and try it. Please remember to come back and share results.

  12. Jyoti

    October 16, 2016 at 7:31 am

    Hi.. I’m 26. I’m having severe hairfall. I will be with no hair if my hairfall continues like this. Also I have shoulder length hair and it never grow more than that. I love long hair.. Is boitin help for me ? How much intake do I need to take ? And how long ? Please suggest!

    • Charl

      October 21, 2016 at 2:52 am

      Hello Jyoti, I understand that must be terrible experience. Well, have you determined the exact cause of your hair fall? Finding the exact cause can help you find a more effective and fast remedy. As for biotin, it is true it can help your hair grow. There is some evidence. For your age, the dosage is 30mcg but it is usually safe even in high amounts.How long it will take varies from individual to individual but you should be able to notice results once it starts working.

    • Bala

      November 20, 2016 at 7:58 am

      Really Nice Post..
      Thanks

  13. Jack

    October 17, 2016 at 6:40 am

    I m 24years old. My hair getting thiner from 4yrs back now. I lost almost major percentage of my hair and now vary few of hair is remain. Till now i am losing my hair daily. After visiting this site., your writing bring little hope. Should i try biotin now for getting thick hair? If so then how mg? Does zinc and vitamin b complex supliment related to hair regrowth?

    • Charl

      October 21, 2016 at 2:32 am

      Hi Jack.The recommended dosage for your age is 30mcg. However biotin is thought to be safe even in higher dosage. Stop and Seek medical attention if you experience unusual symptoms after taking it. Zinc and vitamin b complex supplements are some of essential vitamins and minerals for healthy hair growth.

  14. Gunja

    November 4, 2016 at 1:52 am

    I m 25 year old man. I have bad cut on my hair by barber through thinning scissor. Now my hair is thin in middle section as well as both of side section. My hair become thin. I have thick hair in middle section. Bt now thin.
    I see lots of review of biotin. I take biotin 5000 mcg. It can make my hair thick? It give me volume and thickness on my hair

    • Charl

      November 6, 2016 at 2:18 am

      Hello, yes it can improve your in terms of thickness and growth. Give it a try.

  15. Harry

    November 12, 2016 at 12:22 pm

    HI, I had chemical straightening done to my hair around 8 years ago and since then I have been facing a consistent hair fall. Can biotin help? what dosage should I intake? Please advise

    • Charl

      November 19, 2016 at 3:02 am

      Hi Harry! Yes, biotin can help. For adults the recommended dosage is 30mcg. However it usually safe even in high doses. Do consult with your doctor for further details.

  16. Gunja

    November 17, 2016 at 3:35 am

    Hi.
    Pls give ans as soon as possible.
    I m worried about my hair.
    It’s my pride.

  17. Gunjan

    November 17, 2016 at 5:18 am

    Hi
    How long take biotin work It?
    It’s weeks, months or years

    • Charl

      November 19, 2016 at 2:38 am

      Hello Gunjan, the duration it takes for biotin to show results will depend on a lot of factors starting from the status of your general health, the exact cause of your hair loss, whether you are taking it alone or with other drugs etc. If you are lucky, results will show in a few weeks(as from 3). If your are fairly lucky, expect results in about 3 months of use. For some users, it may take up to a year. You may never see results as well. The reason being, it does not work for everyone.

  18. Gunjan

    November 19, 2016 at 3:12 am

    Hello Charl,
    This is gunjan again.
    I were visited many site and saw biotin review.
    Review about fuller hair. Many users comment on their after taking biotin 5000 or 10000 give them fuller hair.
    So my question is biotin higher dose give better result?

    • Charl

      November 22, 2016 at 5:42 pm

      Hello Gunjan, Biotin is thought to be safe even in high doses. It may or may not give better results. Why? Individuals react to biotin differently. It does work for some people but for others it does not. Best way to go is to start with a small dose while monitoring the reaction. Gradually increase the dosage if you do not experience any bad effect…

  19. GD

    November 23, 2016 at 1:51 am

    Hello Charl,
    I brought natrol biotin fast dissolved 5000 mcg. In bottle tablets with silica packet has it. So what should I do? remove silica packet in the bottle or stay with that tablets?

  20. Gunjan

    December 1, 2016 at 11:19 am

    Hi, Charl.
    Gunjan here.
    I saw last night Hairanew supplement for hair, nail & skin. Amazon users are 4,355.
    Lots of users review is fuller and thicker hair.
    I think I should try it.
    11 ingredients in this supplement.
    Biotin 5000 mcg, vitamin A, vitamin E, Niacin
    Etc. So I want to try it may be it’s give me a good hair.
    So I want to say Charl can u give me advise about hairanew?

  21. Gunjan

    December 3, 2016 at 5:10 am

    Which vitamins make hair FULLER or THICKER?
    In market many supplement
    Example:- viviscal, Hairfinity, Hairanew, Nuviante. This supplement has many ingredients with biotin. If only biotin doesn’t work on hair. So we can give a try it?

  22. vijay

    December 5, 2016 at 6:24 pm

    5000 mcg Biotin with saw palmetto Extract (320 mg) + Pumpkin seed oil (180 mg). is good for hair regrowth ?? Can i get back my hair with above combination ??

    • Charl

      December 7, 2016 at 3:39 am

      Hello Vijay, There is some evidence that all the 3(biotin, saw palmetto & pumpkin seed oil) play a role in regrowing your hair. Go a head and give them a try. But do remember to consult your doctor for details.

  23. jodi wicksteed

    December 15, 2016 at 11:08 pm

    My daughter is 5 and has down syndrome. Her hair has halved in thickness over the past year and is almost balding int he front. I don’t think it is alopecia as she has no smooth bald patches (unless this is coming). Could I give her this supplement?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 11:55 am

      Hello Jodi. You can try it but your doctor is the best person to consult with first. For 4-8 years, the recommended dosage is 12 mcg

  24. twinkle

    December 16, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    i went for hair smoothening in january this year.. i had good hair but smoothening ruined my hair.. also m having some hormone imbalance in my body.. my hair has become so so so less… i feel so bad … m having extreme hair fall since then .. this article gives little hope .. m 21 in age .. hope biotin will help a bit 🙁

  25. Ankpatel

    December 26, 2016 at 6:52 am

    Hi, I’m wearing glasses for past 6 years now. I recently noticed bald spots behind my ears. I recently started taking biotin. Is it going to help regrow my hair in that area?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 11:46 am

      Yes it can help

  26. Ost Mott

    January 11, 2017 at 8:10 pm

    Hi All-

    For those who are interested in whether biotin can help with hair – when I took it as a supplement of 300 mpg per day, my hair color changed to dark brown and my hair became curly. I think it can reverse grayness. The first time I took it, it was about six weeks before I developed the dark brown curly hair. More recently, my MD suggested that I take it at 10,000 mag per day to increase thinning hair. The only down side to taking the biotin is that my skin is more dry, although perhaps that is due to winter and coffee intake.

    Regards-
    Omt

  27. Pnutbutta

    January 20, 2017 at 11:32 pm

    I have low Vitamin D and going through menopause. Both, from what I read, contribute to my hair becoming thin and shedding terribly bad. I’ve been taking Biotin for about 2 weeks and Vit D3 with Calcium along with a multivitamin. Does Biotin help with what I’m dealing with and how long will it be to see some possible change? My hairline is thinning but hopefully all is not in vain.

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:50 am

      Hello Pnutbutta, biotin does help. It may from 2 to 3 weeks but this varies from person to another. Thank you for contribution

  28. Pnutbutta

    January 20, 2017 at 11:33 pm

    Oh…I’m 55 and in pretty good health…do take high blood pressure medicine.

  29. Sravani

    January 30, 2017 at 2:00 pm

    Iam 20 yrs old ..in july i found some cysts in ovaries….done with ultra sound and iam a pcod girl..should i take biotin if yes how much mpg should i take

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:40 am

      Hello Sravani, the effects of using biotin for individuals suffering from Poly-Cystic Ovarian Syndrome are somehow mixed up.
      It is true that biotin can help reduce PCOS-related hair loss. It seems to work for some individuals. Facial hair growth is one the symptoms of PCOS…doesn’t this mean that biotin can make this even worse? Some users claim that you are likely to turn to a man. Some also say that it may promote hair growth in unwanted area. This is especially when you are taking too much of this vitamin.
      In case you want to give it a try, the recommended dosage for your age is 30 mcg. If you notice any unusual hair growth, either reduce the amount or stop it completely.

  30. jho

    February 2, 2017 at 12:29 pm

    iv been taking biotin 5000mcg for more than 2 months now but i havent notice any change rather im getting drastic hair fall after shower. i am so worried that i might lose my hair if this happen everyday. help

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:03 am

      Hello Jho, could you be taking any other medication or anything that is reducing the effectiveness of biotin? Have you also established the exact cause of your hair fall? Biotin ought to encourage hair growth rather than hair fall. Stop taking and please check with your doctor for details.

  31. Cristina

    February 23, 2017 at 9:52 pm

    Please help. My hair has always been my pride and joy. I figured since it is pretty damn healthy, it could deal with some bleach damage. And I figured the master stylist who did all the color-corrections would know how much would be too much. I was wrong, and now I want to burst into tears every time I look at my hair or touch it. I just don’t know what to do. my hair has also NEVER been shorter than this and it breaks and falls out. What should i do to regrow hair?

    • KJ

      June 30, 2017 at 6:52 pm

      Hi Christina! I think I may know of a product that could help. Shoot me a text! 646-389-8960.

  32. Teddy

    March 2, 2017 at 1:24 pm

    Hi, I’m Teddy. I am 21 now and my hair started to fall about a year ago. After reading this, I decided to give biotin a try. So, how much should I consume daily? 5000 mcg or 10 000 mcg?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 2:01 am

      Hello Teddy, the recommended dosage for is 30 mcg. If your body sits well with biotin, you can take any amount.Since Biotin is a water-soluble vitamin, it is safe even in large doses. It is advisable that you start from a small dose then you increase the dosage as time goes by. Do remember to seek more advice from your doctor before taking any medications for hair loss. Why? Individuals react differently to different medications. Thanks for visiting DurableHealth

  33. Jay

    March 24, 2017 at 6:19 am

    I should mention that I have kinda weak hair so prazosin probably exacerbated the problem.

  34. hhy clinic

    June 19, 2017 at 11:34 am

    nice article on hair loss treatment, there is a list of medicine and treatment on hair loss but i think hair transplant known for best hair loss treatment. but prior that we can try biotin, prp, laser hair care like the products and treatment which is totally depend on you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.