Biotin

Biotin Hair Growth-Does it help/Work? Beard, Pills, Rate, Reviews, Pictures & Results

By  | 

Does biotin hair growth fix work? What is the relationship between biotin and hair growth? How does biotin help hair growth and how long does it take?  What is the growth rate? How much biotin should you take to grow long hair? Here’s a guide on the use of this vitamin to grow healthy hair, including beard growth, dosage 1000mcg, 5000mcg, before and after pictures, results reviews, pills, tablets, oil, for African American black hair and more

Biotin Hair Growth-What is the link between Biotin and Hair Growth?

Biotin Hair GrowthHow biotin and hair growth is linked is a very debatable question that has so far no solid scientific facts to go by. There is still a lot of uncertainty on whether biotin can really make your hair grow faster and fuller. Some doctors still dispute this fact saying that there is no scientific basis to support this claim.

The clearest science-based  explanation is based on the role of biotin (vitmin b7) in the human body. Vitamin B7 is vital to cell proliferation. When consumed, this B-complex vitamin reacts with cell enzymes and plays a vital part in producing amino acids, which are the building blocks of protein. Your tress is made up of of keratin, which is a form of protein. This is simply why biotin a valuable resource in hair growth.

Biotin also helps regulate the functions of the sebaceous glands. Hair loss is one of the known symptoms of biotin deficiency which is quite rare. Therefore, eating foods that contain biotin helps to contribute to hair healthy growth.

How does Biotin help/work for Hair Growth? African American & other Races

How does biotin make your hair grow especially if you’re an African American?

Continued use of biotin for a period of about 6 months results in healthier hair follicles translating into stronger, longer and fuller hair. There is reduced hair breakage meaning that hair will grow longer in a shorter period.

Another great benefit that comes with taking biotin supplements for hair growth other than increase in length and strength is great hair color since this vitamin replenishes your roots and follicles. These benefits for any type of hair including African hair

There are a few studies that support biotin hair growth remedy

According to the European Journal of Paediatric Neurology, children who take certain anti-epileptic drugs (AEDs) may suffer hair loss as a secondary effect. This hair loss might be treated with biotin supplementation. The medication may cause biotin deficiency, and supplementation improves hair back to normal levels.

According to The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, Biotin and Zinc supplementation safely and effectively promotes significant hair growth in women with temporary hair thinning.

Ablon Skin Institute Research Center and the University of California, concluded that women who suffered with thinning hair had great success with hair growth when taking biotin.

“Many supplements, including biotin and folic acid, are said to help grow and thicken hair. In studying these different supplements, the findings have been mixed”. American Academy of Dermatology

Other than the studies, there is anecdotal evidence that suggests biotin may have a couple benefits for your mane. You will learn more shortly in the reviews section.

However, it should be noted that biotin does NOT work for everybody. The supplements may not work for you because;

  • Cheap and Poor quality with insufficient amount of biotin in each capsule/pill or tab
  • Some people are allergic to biotin. At the same time ingredients that come with the biotin supplements can be allergic. Poor Quality supplements

Therefore, you should consult your doctor to rule out health conditions that could put you at a risk of developing unpleasant side effects.

Pregnant women and children should be well advised before starting any biotin regimen meant for hair growth.

Choosing the Best Oil & Biotin Pills for Hair Growth

There are many forms and brands of biotin pills/tablets for hair growth. All these forms are well tolerated with an exception of those with difficulty in digesting hard capsules or tablets. Liquid gel supplements are the easiest in digestion and are preferred by many users. These include soft gel capsules or liquid capsules, hard gel capsules and vitamin tablets.

Here ideas to choose the best biotin hair treatment

Do your research

Consult widely. The best information can be obtained from your doctor. If you are too busy to see your doctor, go online and find some info. The internet is a great resource but beware of websites promoting fake and poor quality products.

Check Ratings and Reviews from reputable online stores

Check authoritative websites that allow users to rate and review products. A good example is Amazon. If there are thousands of positive reviews and 4 or 5-star ratings, then the possibility of it being an effective product is very high. However, beware some manufacturers pay users so they(users) can give positive reviews.  Focus on reviews from verified buyers.

Opt for Biotin supplements with Natural Ingredients.

Biotin supplements with natural ingredients are the best. Check on the label for details like gluten-free, preservative-free, and non-GMO etc.

 Be Cautious of Cheap Biotin Supplements

Cheap is expensive…! If it is very cheap, then it must have been made from artificial ingredients that may damage your hair and scalp and even worsen hair loss. Never sacrifice quality for affordability.

Top Biotin Tablets/Pillls/Supplements for Hair

Some of the most popular biotin pills for hair growth include;

  1. Incite Nutrition Biotin Hair and Nail Food Supplement
  2. Natrol Biotin Maximun Strength 10000mcg
  3. Natrol Biotin Tablets 1000mcg
  4. Sports Research High Potency Biotin
  5. TOBIAS Optimum Phytoceramides Plus Biotin, Collagen, Hyaluronic Acid & Silica
  6. Island’s Miracle Pure Biotin Ultra Vitamins for Hair Growth
  7. Zenwise Labs Hairgrowth Biotin Vitamins + DHT Blocker
  8. Spring Valley Biotin
  9. Now Foods Biotin
  10. Spring Valley Biotin
  11. Amazing Nutrition Biotin
  12. Nature’s Bounty Super Potency Biotin Soft Gels, 5000mcg
  13. Solgar Biotin Vegetable Capsules, 5000mcg

Pure Biotin oil for hair growth

Biotin is a major ingredient in many hair products like oil and shampoo. Hair oil with biotin has moisturizing properties that make it good for dry, thin hair. This helps to restore hair strength and sheen. This, alongside other safe hair practices like cleaning and regular trimming will help you grow hair longer and healthier

Unfortunately, a pure biotin oil for hair growth does not some seem to exist in the market as per now. Most people mix other oils with biotin.

Recommended reading: Top biotin Shampoo for Hair growth

Biotin Oil for Hair growth with collagen and coconut oil

Biotin Oil for Hair growth

Biotin Hair Growth rate-How long does it take to see Results?

The  rate at which your hair grow will grow when taking biotin may vary from person to person. However, there’s no rate that has been set as standard.

Biotin takes 2-3 weeks to start showing results. For some people it may up to six months or more. For others it will take forever meaning that they wont see results.

However, note that results for using biotin are mixed... they are not clear. Though it does cause hair to become stronger at the shaft, reducing hair loss in the process.  The stronger your  hair, the better the chances of it growing longer and stronger

Biotin Beard Growth Review-Men & Women

As you have already learnt, biotin may help your hair grow. Is this the same for beard (facial hair) growth both in men and women? Read on to find out

Biotin beard growth men

Beard is hair just like any other hair on your body. Basing on the fact that there’s some evidence that it can boost your hair growth in terms of health and strength…it of course can the same thing to your beard. Taking biotin supplements such as pills will definitely affect the growth of your beard. Do expect results overnight.

Which is the best way to these supplements for beard growth? Biotin beard cream or pills? Pills are the most popular forms of biotin for hair growth. Not much is available on creams. For details on before and after results pictures on beard growth check results section down below.

biotin beard growth review men-women-cream

Biotin and Beard Growth

 

Biotin facial unwanted hair growth women

Many women wonder if taking biotin will lead to unwanted hair growth especially on their face. Fast, it is important to note that hair growth in some parts of the human body is controlled by hormones. Women develop excessive body or facial hair due to higher-than-normal levels of androgens, including testosterone. The fact is, all females produce androgens, but the levels typically remain low. Certain medical conditions can cause a woman to produce too many androgens which can lead excessive hair growth.

Some women report that biotin has led to more hair growth on their face. This is likely possible if you are already having issues with androgens. In normal situations biotin cannot encourage new hair growth.

Dosage for Hair Growth-1000mcg 5000mcg & 10000mcg,

Biotin Dosage-(how much for) for Hair Growth? Which is better, 1000 mcg or 5000mcg or 10000 mcg? Some individuals claim that 5 mg biotin hair growth 2 weeks works… How should go about it?

There are no dietary limitations of biotin. Biotin is thought to be safe even when taken in large doses. However, this is not the case for everyone. Some people have had terrible experiences with high doses.

The Mayo Clinic’s dosage recommendation for adults is between 30-100 mcg per day of biotin. On the other hand, The Institute of Medicine’s Food and Nutrition Board recommends that  adults should get 19.30 mcg of biotin per day. The dosages range according to your age, and if you are actually biotin deficient or not.

Biotin 5000 mcg for Hair

Many people claim to have grown their hair longer and thicker while using 5000mcg of biotin daily taken in two halves – in the morning and evening. However, this does not seem to work for everyone.

Since this does not seem to work for everyone, it is advisable to start at a lesser dose say 2500mcg and make a gradual increase as you document your progress on photos until you get to the amount that works specifically for you.

Biotin 1000 mcg Hair Growth

Is biotin 1000 mcg the best for hair growth? A significant number of individuals (especially those who lack sufficient biotin in their body) have reported that this specific biotin supplementation has greatly helped them regrow their hair.

This is just anecdotal evidence meaning that there is not enough scientific information to back up these reports. But if it has worked for someone, it might also work for you.

Biotin 10000 mcg

It is however, recommended that you should not exceed 10000mcg per day. Do not attempt to take this dosage especially if you have not tried the smaller dosages.

Biotin 10000mcg for hair growth

Biotin 10000mcg

Be it 5000 mcg or 1000 mcg supplements,  results seem to differ from one person to the other due to different metabolism rates and levels of activity. Other influencing factors are:

  • Diet
  • How much water one takes in a day
  • How much alcohol one consumes
  • If on any antibiotic treatment
  • Health conditions
  • Age

It is believed that while alcohol and antibiotics hinder the functions of biotin in the body, intake of adequate amounts of water could help the body adapt to the supplements

Biotin Hair Growth Reviews-Is it really Good?

So, what do user reviews of biotin use for hair growth indicate? Is it good to grow hair? Are the ratings positive? Are the results positive? Below are some of the customer testimonials and reviews on the use of biotin to grow long, healthy hair.

Reviews Ratings of biotin products for growing hair long: Biotin products are highly rated. Average rating of all brands is at 4 stars out of 5. More than 50 percent of buyers stated that they would buy again.

Reviews at WebMd.com rate biotin for hair supplements at 3.4, 4.4, and 3.5 out of 5 stars based on effectiveness, ease of use and satisfaction respectively. Here are some of the testimonials we came across while reviewing this product.

“I take 5000mcgs daily (with food.) So far I have no brand preference, (though I don’t recommend Spring Valley (walmart) brand, it did absolutely nothing for me and my hair started to fall out massively again) [Makeupalley]

“Biotin has worked wonders for me! My hair was very damaged from regular coloring and since I have been taking biotin my hair is thicker and growing very fast. My nails are the strongest and longest they have ever been! My skin is also looking better. I have had no bad side effects. I have switched between the 5000 and 10000 mcg pills (whichever is on sale) and have had great results for the la ….” [WebMd]

Biotin Hair Growth before and after Pictures-Beard,1000mcg Results

What results on hair growth should you expect when taking biotin for hair growth? Biotin hair growth results before and after are quite mixed. While most people report great results after using biotin for hair, it is important to note that biotin does not work in a matter of days. Patience and consistency is a great key to achieving the desired effects of biotin on your hair.

Due to the factors mentioned above, the reception and absorption of biotin in different people is quite different. It is recommended that one takes biotin consistently for about 4-6 months for best results. Here, we show you some of the before and after photos of people who have used biotin to grow their hair longer.

Men-Beard growth before and after results

men Biotin Beard Growth before and after picutres

Biotin Beard Growth before and after

 

Men Hair

Hair growth with biotin in Men before and after

Hair growth with biotin in Men

Women results

biotin before and after results-women

Results- women

Biotin black hair growth results

Biotin as a hair growth supplement does not seem to work better on hair depending on its color. As long as other determining factors are ruled out it is safe and may work right for black hair as much as it does for other hair colors. Still, this is not a guarantee that it will give you positive results.

African American black hair growth with biotin before and after

African American black hair growth with biotin

“I take 1 Biotin 5000mcg pill a day, plus 1 mega-multi vitamin and 1 MSM 1000MG per day. I have been taking the Biotin for 10 weeks now and I have noticed a considerable difference in my new growth. I am an African American woman with 4A/4B hair texture (pretty kinky).” [amazon.com]

Biotin Hair Growth Side Effects

Below are some of the know bad effects of biotin.

  • Skin eruptions/breakout
  • Itchiness of the skin
  • Rash and
  • In extreme cases, eosinophilic pleuropericardial effusion.

While biotin can be very beneficial for hair growth, it is not a guarantee taking biotin will be an instant fix for your hair growth.  As mentioned earlier, there is just not enough scientific evidence to prove that biotin supplementation can improve hair loss. It’s important to understand why you are experiencing hair loss in the first place, it may be something that needs to be addressed a different way before trying to supplement with biotin. Do remember to consult your doctor.

Follow these suggested  links to learn more about Biotin

  1. Biotin Reviews for Weight Loss, Hair, Skin & Nails- Best Biotin Brand, Where To Buy
  2. Biotin Dosage for Nails, Hair Adults, 5000mcg, Overdose, How Much Biotin is Too Much – Side Effects
  3. Biotin for Hair Loss Effectiveness, How Much Biotin for Hair Loss & Reviews
  4. Biotin Side Effects, Is Biotin Safe, 5000mcg Pills, Skin & Period.
  5. Foods With Biotin & Role, Biotin Rich Foods, Biotin In Foods..
  6. Benefits of Biotin Weight Loss, Hair, Skin – What Is Biotin Good for?
  7. Biotin Deficiency, Symptoms, Hair Loss, Infants, Rash & Treatment.
  8. Biotin for Skin – What Does Biotin Do for Skin, Biotin Skin Benefits, Reviews & Results
  9. What is Biotin Used for, Biotin for Hair, Nail, Skin, Horses & Men, Sources

Sources & References

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4389977/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3509882/

Linus Pauling Institute

 

 

52 Comments

  1. ADIJAT

    February 19, 2015 at 9:43 am

    This site is very good in my opinion, I got the information that I need.
    I have a question here, can a properly controlled diabetic type-2 use Biotin and what milligramme?

    • Charl

      February 19, 2015 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks Adijat for checking by. For people with type 2 diabetes, studies indicate that a combination of biotin and chromium might improve blood sugar. In one particular study 2 milligrammes were used. However, it is very important that you seek advice from your doctor before trying it.

  2. Amanda

    September 15, 2015 at 9:33 am

    I’m have been reading about biotin.. I bought a bottle of biotin at the dollar store I think the brand is rexell or something spelled like that it’s the 1000 one and on the bottle out says take 1 tablet five things a day it’s that to much for a person just starting to use??.I took five tablets between 8:30 am and 6pm .. In my opinion I think it’s to much .. Please help.!!!

    • Charl

      September 15, 2015 at 5:48 pm

      Hi Amanda. Thanks for visiting DurableHealth. Generally Biotin is known to be safe and there are no dietary limitations. 1 tablet 5 times a day sounds too much for a starter. Results tend to differ from one person to another. For some it works while for others it does not work. The differences in results may be because of different levels of activities and metabolism rates, age, diet, health conditions etc.(refer above). 1-2 tablets dosage a day is usually recommended for adults. It is highly recommended that you seek further advice from your doctor before use especially if you are expectant, nursing or taking any other medications.

  3. jacky quah

    October 22, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    how do i purchase

    • Charl

      October 25, 2015 at 5:27 pm

      Hi Jacky, you can order it from Amazon online store. However, biotin is also in some of the foods you eat.

  4. Tamilselvi

    November 27, 2015 at 4:00 am

    Hi !
    I am tamil. I bought 1000mcg from ebay; its been two weeks that I am using it.. Still din find any differences on hairfall, but I hope it will work for me. The question that I wanted to ask is, I want to increase the intake of this gel, I am taking it only in the morning.. In which possible way I can increase the intake? And can I start using 5000 mcg , once I complete this 1000 mcg . Thank you.

    • Charl

      November 29, 2015 at 4:16 am

      Hi Tamil, it usually takes 2-3 week to see results. However, this period may differ from one individual to another. Therefore it may take more than two weeks for you to see results. Taking it twice or three times a day may be possible way to increase your intake. You can also increase to 5000mcg. Do consult your doctor for further advice. He/she will recommend the right dosage after examining your health status.

  5. Kari

    January 18, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    Hi, my hair is starting to thin out because of medications for RA. Can biotin help/prevent further hair loss?

    • Charl

      January 19, 2016 at 6:42 pm

      Hi Kari, Biotin may help to some extent but as long as you are still taking the Rheumatoid Arthritis medications you are likely to experience hair thinning or even hair loss. This is usually because of the substances with which the medications are made up of. Mostcommon ones include methotrexate, Leflunomide & Arava. However, most these medications are known to be viable and as such, you really ought not to stop the medications especially when it is a mild case. In severe cases a possible remedy may be to lower the dosage for the medications. Likewise, your rheumatologist might recommend switching to another drug. Including biotin in this regimen may help thicken your hair. Do forget to consult your dermatologist for further details or advice.

  6. Hannah

    February 8, 2016 at 4:25 am

    Hi! Is there a noticeable difference/significant difference regarding hair growth with increasing from a 5,000 mcg dose to a 10,000 mcg dose? Common sense would tell me that the results may come twice as fast and possibly twice as good with the 10,000 mcg dose than the 5,000 mcg. However, I understand that at a certain point/past a certain dosage, efficacy of vitamins seem to work the same instead of better. I hope this makes sense. I guess what I’m asking is that: will my hair grow twice as fast if I up my 5,000 mcg dosage of biotin to 10,000 mcg? Thank you!

    • Charl

      February 8, 2016 at 6:46 pm

      Hi Hanna, some users have observed a significant difference when they take 10000mcg while for others there has been no difference. Other individuals say that this high dosage has resulted to breakouts. Considering that it is water-soluble, it is believed to be save. As you’ve said, at a certain point/past a certain dosage, efficacy of vitamins seem to work the same instead of better. This makes sense. If you decide to up your dosage, it may work or not work. However, you need an okay from you doctor first. He/she will examine you and find out if it is necessary to increase the dosage.Please let us know the results in case you will double the dosage.

  7. Kamielya

    February 16, 2016 at 11:02 pm

    Hi . I’m 21 and just brought Spring valley 10,000 MCG of biotin from Walmart and I weight only 104 pounds (fast metabolism) i don’t have a doctor and I am only taking it for damaged overly treated piping hair. Plus I also suffer from nerve problems in the face. Is this a OK dosage? And is it OK to take with milk ??? Oh and BTW I never taken biotin before so I’m just being precautious …

    • Charl

      February 17, 2016 at 2:48 pm

      Hi, Kamielya, Biotin is a water-soluble type of vitamin. This implies that it is regularly cleaned out your system. What this means is that it is safe even in high doses. Research has actually proven this. Milk is actually one of the natural sources of biotin. According to the university of Maryland Medical Center,there are reports that biotin helps improve symptoms of nerve damage (Peripheral neuropathy) especially in the feet, hands, legs, or arms. If it is the first time you are taking it, consider starting with a smaller dose, see if it sits well with your body then increase the dosage gradually.

  8. Stephanie

    March 14, 2016 at 2:53 am

    Other than biotin, what other vitamins help hair growth? Where can I find these vitamins? How do these vitamins compare with biotin? Is biotin the best vitamin supplement for hair growth? Please highlight briefly. Will really appreciate your help. Thank you in advance….

  9. sudha

    March 20, 2016 at 2:45 pm

    Sudha.
    I have more hair loss and my hair is very thin.is biotin will work for me?

    • Charl

      March 23, 2016 at 2:07 am

      Hello Sudha, You can give biotin a try. It has worked for some individuals meaning that it may also work for you. Remember to come back and share your results.

  10. karthik

    April 30, 2016 at 7:27 am

    I have been using minoxidil for 4 months and
    my hair fall has not stopped should i stop
    using it.. if i stop using it will it cause any
    further problems. And after reading your useful
    tips i have started taking biotin tablets from
    few days will it help in stopping hair fall?

    • Charl

      May 10, 2016 at 9:54 am

      Hi Karthik, Minoxidil is a topical application that is known to enhance growth hair. After looking around, the available information states that the earliest you should expect results from Rogaine is 4 months. According to some individuals like Dr. McAndrews, you should give it up to 14 months. Biotin may help. It has worked for individuals with a similar problem. But before that, you should establish what is causing your hair to fall.There could be a better solution other than Minoxidil or supplements like Biotin.

  11. Subir

    May 12, 2016 at 4:02 am

    I have use biotin 1000 plus, last 16 days. But hairfall not stoped. How much time to take stop hair fall and biotin 1000 + is regrowth new hair?

    (prescribed from doctor)

    • Charl

      May 13, 2016 at 5:55 pm

      Hi Subir, you should give it more time. According to user who biotin has worked for, results start to show within the first three to four weeks but it may take longer. It does not work the same for everyone.

      • Subir

        May 14, 2016 at 3:31 am

        Thanks charl!
        PRP treatment is better for stop hairfall?
        I have use Bioderma Node DS+ shampooing for hair dandruff. It is right for me?

        • Charl

          May 16, 2016 at 2:59 am

          Hi Subir, we do not have sufficient information on how Biodermal Node DS+ works on hair dandruff. So we cannot say if it is right or NOT right for you. We will review it soon. Stay tuned for updates. Thanks for the question though.

  12. Subir

    May 17, 2016 at 8:46 am

    Thanks charl!
    Can you tell me the PRP treatment or therapy. It will be work to stop hair fall and grow new hair?

    • Charl

      May 20, 2016 at 3:17 am

      Hello Subir. We do not have sufficient information on platelet rich plasma (PRP) therapy and how it works in regard to hair fall. However, stay tuned we will be publishing a detailed review on this.

  13. Amber

    July 3, 2016 at 4:11 am

    Hey. My names Amber and I had a small spot go bald due to a pregnancy hormone, will this help my hair grow back faster. Is there any other medication you need to take with biotin.
    (I started taking TWO 5,000mcg once a day 2 days ago.. )

    • Charl

      July 6, 2016 at 5:04 pm

      Hi Amber, thank you for visiting Durablehealth. Yes biotin can help your hair grow faster. However, it does not always work for everyone. It works for some individuals while for others it does not work. Different people react to this vitamin supplement in different ways. Biotin is usually considered safe even in high doses but it is recommended you consult your doctor for further details on how much of it you need to take. As for other medications for hair growth, you can try Minoxidil (Rogaine),Ketoconazole (Nizoral),Cimetidine (Tagamet), Spironolactone (Aldactone), Cyproterone Acetate, Ketoconazole (Nizoral) Finasteride (Propecia, Proscar) Oral Contraceptives and Cyproterone Acetate with Ethinyloestradiol (Diane 35, Diane 50) to mention just but a few. Keep tuned on, we will be reviewing each of this medication in upcoming articles.

  14. Akshay

    July 3, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    I am 23yrs old, I loose 10-15 hairs a day, my most hairs are thick and strong and some hairs are thinning at the top and there is a small bald patch at the thinned area, will consuming biotin 10000mcg and other vitamins and minerals like zinc, iron, folic acid and omega3 for 3 months will lower the hairfall and regrow new hair near the small patches?

    • Charl

      July 6, 2016 at 5:08 pm

      Hi Akshay, Biotin and the list of vitamins and minerals you have mentioned can help. However, consult you doctor for details on how much of each you need to take. Please remember to come back and share the results.

      • Akshay

        July 15, 2016 at 7:18 pm

        Also taking biotin will help me get my hair thicker and stronger and cover my small bald patches?

        • Charl

          July 16, 2016 at 1:50 am

          Hi Akshay, Biotin may help. It has helped some users strengthen as well as regrow their hair. However, before starting to take it, consult your doctor first to establish if you really need it and how much you can take. Please, do remember to come back and share your results.

          • Akshay

            July 20, 2016 at 9:57 am

            I am trying to add saw palmetto with biotin, will saw palmetto help me lower my hair loss?

          • Charl

            July 29, 2016 at 4:21 am

            Hello Akshay, saw palmetto can help lower hair loss. Be sure to check with your doctor to determine how much of it and biotin you need. Keep checking around on our website, we are yet to review saw palmetto for hair loss/growth

  15. rapidhairsolutions

    July 13, 2016 at 11:26 am

    I like this product of Hair oil and shampoo .
    However, stay tuned we will be publishing a detailed review on this.

  16. Akshay

    August 1, 2016 at 7:47 pm

    Is saw palmetto beneficial to lower thinning of hair?

    • Charl

      August 9, 2016 at 5:35 pm

      Hi Ashlay, we are working an article on that.

  17. swathi

    August 21, 2016 at 11:43 am

    hii this is swathi..im 20 and suffering from thyroid. i am prescribed thyronorm 75 mcg. i have hairloss can i take biotin? please suggest the dosage and number of times per day.. i consult a doctor who lives in anothertown and even she is not available through phone. soo i need your suggestion

    • Charl

      August 23, 2016 at 6:01 pm

      Hi Swathi, hair loss is a common side effect of taking thyronorm. Yes, biotin may help in slowing the rate of hair loss but unfortunately there isn’t enough information on how biotin interacts with thyronorm. This implies that the best answer should be from your doctor who has already examined you. Some individuals do take biotin with thyronorm but it strictly under a doctor’s instructions.

  18. Geeta

    September 5, 2016 at 7:24 am

    Hi. This side Geeta From New Delhi. And i am 25 yrs old . Actually i did rebonding my hair in the months of Apr-16. but after 2-3 month my hair fall had start and still hair falling i am very worried about that .so my frnd told me that about biotin oil and capsule ..
    so my question is that . Biotin oil and Capsule will effective or not.??? and how much time it will take. and how many time it use. i wish that my hair grow faster and stop hair falll.

    is it possible.

    • Charl

      September 7, 2016 at 5:56 pm

      Hi Geeta, quite a huge number of ladies experience hair falling after rebonding. This is because hair follicles are brutally damaged by the harsh chemicals that are used in the process. Hair falling after rebonding is a serious issue for sure. Studies have shown that biotin can help your hair grow. However there is not enough information showing its effectiveness on regrowing hair after rebonding. For your age the dosage is 30 mcg. However even in high doses, biotin is thought to be safe. It is recommended that you take it consistently for about 4-6 months for best results. Also ensure getting good diet. Stop Rebonding. Take enough water. Try to massage your hair with essential oils. You can also try home remedies such as Aloe Egg Mask.

  19. Akshay

    September 12, 2016 at 5:33 pm

    Hi its Akshay here again, ive found that iam suffering from telogen effluvium i dont have a receeding hairline but i have diffuse thinning at the top and the sides of my scalp i loose around 10-20 hairs per day. Will consuming biotin vitamin b6, b12, protein and omega3 supplements and also consuming foods rich in iron and zinc will help me resolve this problem and and will make my hair stronger and thicker?

    • Charl

      September 17, 2016 at 5:22 pm

      Hi Akshay, Ys! All the products/nutrients you have mentioned are good for your health.

  20. Cari

    October 16, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    Hi,
    I have 38 years old, 120 pounds. I have take biotin 3000mg a day for one year. I did not see any difference on my thin damaged hair. Can I add another dosage of 5000mg? The total will be 8000mg daily. Please answer my question. Thank so much.

    • Charl

      October 21, 2016 at 2:41 am

      Hello Cari, Thanks for your contribution. Biotin is thought to be safe even in large doses. However, too much may come with side effects like outbreaks.If you’ve not experienced any side effect then you can comfortably increase the dosage. Instead jumping straight to 8000mg, move it to 5000mg then 8000.

  21. Arman

    November 30, 2016 at 4:19 pm

    Hi Charl,
    First of all I’m very glad to know DURABLE HEALTH. I’m Arman 32, years old. Actually I’m just worried about hair lost as I get older, I mean in the future… Is that ok to take biotin 5,000 mcg at the same time while I’m taking other suplements (vitamin C, vitamin E, collagen, glutathion and multiviamins and minerals). Is that ok to take biotin while taking the said suplements at the same time? By the way biotin is not just for hair. am I right? Biotin is good also for healthy skin and nails. Is that proven?
    I’m looking forward for your kind response. Thank you so much and God blessed. 🙂

    • Charl

      December 7, 2016 at 3:32 am

      Hello Arman. Not a lot of information is available on how biotin interacts with other medications/supplements. However, there is a possibility that biotin can decrease how quickly the liver breaks down some medications… Be cautious if the medication you are taking that are meant to be broken down by the liver. Find out more from your healthcare provider. True, biotin is not just for hair. It is also good for skin and nails. Even though most of the info supporting this is based on hearsay, there is some evidence owing to the fact that this is a vitamin.

  22. Nick

    January 18, 2017 at 4:56 pm

    I’m losing about 150 hairs per day during shower. Now my scalps are easily visible. About 1-2 mm gap is visible between each and every hair. I tried a lot of protein serum and shampoos but still not getting any results. I’m 24 (M). I heard there is no side effects even if we take biotin in higher dosage. So Is it okay with 10000 mcg daily intake of biotin as a supplement?

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 7:55 am

      Hello Nick, true, biotin is thought to be safe even in high amounts. However this varies from person to person. It does not sit well with some individuals. It is best to start from a small amount then increase with time. Do remember to seek advice from you doctor first.

  23. Dushara

    February 16, 2017 at 6:50 am

    Hi i’m Dushara.
    Still i’am 19 yrs old.i want to know the dosage of biotin for my hair loss.is it harm for our future? Most beauticians says that mininum biotin usage per day is 0.5mg.is it true? & I wanna a realized this problem because i have a great suffer about my hair.lossing my hair is increased day by day.please help me.

    • Charl

      March 3, 2017 at 2:16 am

      Hello Dushara, the recommended dosage for your age is 30 mcg. If your body sits well with biotin (you experience no reaction), you can take any amount.Since Biotin is a water-soluble vitamin, it is safe even in large doses. It is advisable that you start small then you increase the dosage with time. Do remember to seek more advice from your doctor before taking any medications for hair loss. Why? Individuals react differently to different medications. For some people it works while for others it does not work

  24. Nirmal Rawat

    March 5, 2017 at 5:14 pm

    Hi i want take BIOTIN 5000mcg.. please i wanna ask how many times we can take in a day.. means how much doses we can take in a day.. Please suggest

    • Charl

      March 7, 2017 at 2:50 am

      Hello Nirmal, the dosage depends on factors like age, health status etc. However, biotin is usually safe even in high doses. . Here is an overview of recommended intake as per age.
      Ages1-3 shoulld take 8 mcg
      Ages 4-8 should take 12mcg
      Ages 9-13 should take 20 mcg
      Ages 14-18 should take 25mcg
      Adults should take 30 mcg or 35mcg(lacting mothers)
      Do remember to consult your doctor for further details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.